Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Loved this recipe the first time I made it for Thanksgiving; the kids couldn't stop eating them. Second time I cut back on the white sugar, skipped the icing, and added dark chocolate chunks. Still had the sweetness, and the flavors mixed wonderfully. Again, the kids couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These were out-of-this-world. We could not stop eating them. As another reviewer suggested, we reduced the sugar and brown sugar to 3/4 cups each and that was plenty. We also added about a tsp of cinnamon and ginger. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
My mother gave me 3 good-sized, fresh sweet potatoes last month and I decided to look on this website for interesting recipes other than cooking the yams in the microwave. I came across this brownie receipe and immediately made it. THE BROWNIES WERE FANTASTIC! I shared them with about a dozen people and everyone loved them. But I wonder if you can use carrots instead of yams and I also wonder if you can use yams in carrot cake? I bet you could. . . . By the way, I never make the glaze as the brownies are sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Perfect for thanksgiving. I used half wheat flour and half white flour and halved the amount of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
These were very good, but also VERY sweet. I would very careful with the glaze - I ended up scraping it off (as much as I could,) but I can't deny that they were a total hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Based on the reviews, I expected these to be amazing, but they were flat tasting--just sweet, nothing else. I'm from the south and we do all sorts of tastier things with sweet potatoes. This reminded me of a sweet potato casserole but not as good. I really wanted to like these more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I've made these several times now, and they're wonderful. The whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
to die for! cut the sugar to half, then use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
OH MY GOODNESS! this is SOOOO yummy. I made some moderations, however. I cut the sugar in half, used wheat flour instead of white and used smart balance butter instead of the fatty kind. Delicious. The kids will love it. I also omitted the glaze. It's perfectly sweet without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
AMAZING! Although nothing like the classic chewy brownie, this is an incredibly rich, moist and fluffy cake. My roomates finished it off in 20 minutes! The yams are incredibly sweet and oily as they are so the second time i made it i cut the sugar and butter in HALF and it was even more incredible! The third time i made it i cut the butter and sugar by 3/4 and it was less rich but STILL delicious and much more healthy. The yams do not need to be pre-cooked. MAKE THIS you will not regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States