Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by FUNLETA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very sweet and moist. They don't even need the glaze. I made them for an engagement party and everyone was surprised that they had sweet potato in them. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Really enjoyed this recipe but 1 cup of butter made them seem really greasy, I think next time I will use 1/4 to 1/2 cup of butter and replace the rest with natural applesauce. I like the butter flavor so I don't want to get rid of it completely, but I do want to cut back on the greasiness and I think the applesauce will taste great with the other flavors :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
These are extremely good! I made a few changes to the recipe. I halved both the white sugar and the brown sugar, using 1/2c of each. I also used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. I used 1/2c egg substitute (its healthier and I was out of whole eggs at the time). Based on other reviews, I also decided to cut down on the butter. Instead of 1c I first tried 1/2c, but found that the sugars and butter didn't want to cream well so I added a bit more butter (1-1 1/2 Tbsp) and it worked well. I used a 29oz can of sweet potatoes instead of fresh, mainly because I had them on hand. I made sure to drain them well, then I mashed them. Next time I will try fresh sweet potaotes to compare. I didn't put the glaze on top, but next time I may. Over all these were very good and not overly sweet. The only down side is that I ate most of them myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These brownies were quite tasty! We followed the recipe exactly, but didn't use the glaze because there were plenty sweet on their own. They were a bit oily for us, so I might cut back on the butter next time. My daughter couldn't wait to feed them to her dad to secretly get some vegetables into his diet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I bought a new baking pan that's like a muffin tin only the cups are square. I made this recipe to try out the new pan. It was awesome! I added one extra egg, because it was lonely in there by itself. I was a bit concerned that the batter was very loose and you could see small butter specks. Cooked up wonderful and dense. Everyone loved it. I did not glaze, but put a pecan struesel on top before baking - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Loved this recipe the first time I made it for Thanksgiving; the kids couldn't stop eating them. Second time I cut back on the white sugar, skipped the icing, and added dark chocolate chunks. Still had the sweetness, and the flavors mixed wonderfully. Again, the kids couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These were out-of-this-world. We could not stop eating them. As another reviewer suggested, we reduced the sugar and brown sugar to 3/4 cups each and that was plenty. We also added about a tsp of cinnamon and ginger. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
My mother gave me 3 good-sized, fresh sweet potatoes last month and I decided to look on this website for interesting recipes other than cooking the yams in the microwave. I came across this brownie receipe and immediately made it. THE BROWNIES WERE FANTASTIC! I shared them with about a dozen people and everyone loved them. But I wonder if you can use carrots instead of yams and I also wonder if you can use yams in carrot cake? I bet you could. . . . By the way, I never make the glaze as the brownies are sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Perfect for thanksgiving. I used half wheat flour and half white flour and halved the amount of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
These were very good, but also VERY sweet. I would very careful with the glaze - I ended up scraping it off (as much as I could,) but I can't deny that they were a total hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States