Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Trish-a-Licious
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Absolutely scrumptious! Now this will be one of my favorite recipes to bake. I made only 1 change to the ingredient. Use 1 large can of Candied Yams. Drain and smash the yams really good and fold into the batter. This is cake like, but super moist that is loaded with beta carotene. Thank you for having this recipe, I can’t wait to serve it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish-a-Licious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was amazing! I omitted the white sugar like others have suggested, and I absolutely LOVED these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Wow, talk about different....I love these brownies. Sweet and moist, so no need for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by magnoliakng
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This recipe blew my mind! I used only 2 eggs instead of 4, added 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and omitted the icing overtop and they were FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Really not very good at all. I cut back on the sugar like others suggested and it wasn't very sweet. Used the topping and still not really sweet. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious! The most tedious part is just shredding the yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUNLETA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very sweet and moist. They don't even need the glaze. I made them for an engagement party and everyone was surprised that they had sweet potato in them. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Really enjoyed this recipe but 1 cup of butter made them seem really greasy, I think next time I will use 1/4 to 1/2 cup of butter and replace the rest with natural applesauce. I like the butter flavor so I don't want to get rid of it completely, but I do want to cut back on the greasiness and I think the applesauce will taste great with the other flavors :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
These are extremely good! I made a few changes to the recipe. I halved both the white sugar and the brown sugar, using 1/2c of each. I also used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. I used 1/2c egg substitute (its healthier and I was out of whole eggs at the time). Based on other reviews, I also decided to cut down on the butter. Instead of 1c I first tried 1/2c, but found that the sugars and butter didn't want to cream well so I added a bit more butter (1-1 1/2 Tbsp) and it worked well. I used a 29oz can of sweet potatoes instead of fresh, mainly because I had them on hand. I made sure to drain them well, then I mashed them. Next time I will try fresh sweet potaotes to compare. I didn't put the glaze on top, but next time I may. Over all these were very good and not overly sweet. The only down side is that I ate most of them myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These brownies were quite tasty! We followed the recipe exactly, but didn't use the glaze because there were plenty sweet on their own. They were a bit oily for us, so I might cut back on the butter next time. My daughter couldn't wait to feed them to her dad to secretly get some vegetables into his diet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States