Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These are amazing. I did not cook my sweet potatoe before shredding (as so many recommend). I only added 3/4 C of each sugar, 3 eggs and 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Everything else I kept the same. They are so moist. My husband said they are the best thing I've ever made, and took them to work. All the guys are asking me to make more. This recipe goes to the front of my dessert folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These were pretty good!! Grating the Yams in the food processor made these super quick to whip up. I did have to bake about 40 minutes. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Yup, these are a good idea! I call them Goldies, and they don't stay around for very long. A nice change of dessert pace too. I followed the recipe exactly, and shredding the yams in the food processor (with shredder attachment) makes them a breeze to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are sooo good. I replaced all the butter with unsweetened applesauce. Also I only had cooked sweet potatoes so I mashed them in. Will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is very sweet, especially with the icing but sooooo very yummy. I added some mace, allspice, cinnamon, ginger, clove, and a touch of nutmeg to it. The spices really added to the flavor. I used about a 1/4 teaspoon of each and a pinch of nutmeg, I also used 3 cups of sweet potato instead of 2. It came out very moist! I personally prefer it served warm with a cup of coffee. Next time I will use less sugar and make it for a brunch. The recipe worked perfect at 6100 ft above sea level, not sure if it will need modification at higher elevations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Very good. I think this recipe requires a couple small changes to make it five stars. I can't imagine using the full amount of sugar called for, plus the glaze. I halved the recipe and used 1/3 c. white sugar and 1/3 c. brown sugar, and left off the glaze entirely. Like another reviewer, I felt that these turned out greasy with the amount of butter called for, so I may try this again subbing applesauce for some of the butter. With a few small changes, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Two of my friends said this was the best thing they had ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Tara T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Oh my goodness, these are wonderful. Other than using a fresh grated sweet potato instead of a yam, I followed the recipe exactly and they came out sweet, moist, and probably the yummiest dessert I've ever tasted. Sooo addicting. Thank you Starflower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trish-a-Licious
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Absolutely scrumptious! Now this will be one of my favorite recipes to bake. I made only 1 change to the ingredient. Use 1 large can of Candied Yams. Drain and smash the yams really good and fold into the batter. This is cake like, but super moist that is loaded with beta carotene. Thank you for having this recipe, I can’t wait to serve it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish-a-Licious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was amazing! I omitted the white sugar like others have suggested, and I absolutely LOVED these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States