Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Missi
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
first time i made cornbread and this recipe turned out great, super easy to make! will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
i like to add a dallop of yogurt to the batter. its not dry or crumbly and just plain awesome. oh, i do cut the sugar in half. i have used cake flour instead of reg and its a softer crumb. either way this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I've been baking cornbread for my family for over 35 years. The recipe I was using was very good, but had too many steps to accomplish a great end result. I wanted to make a change to a simpler recipe and decided to try this one. I wasn't very impressed at all. My original recipe separated three eggs where I mixed the batter with the yolks, then had to whip the whites into a meringue & fold into the batter. This recipe used only one whole egg, but was a bit on the salty side, including the small amount of batter left behind in the bowl. The finished product came up tasting salty and dry, even with an addition of vanilla that I added after the wet ingredients were incorporated because it lacked flavor. I'm going back to my standby recipe, which has never disappointed me. As the old saying goes, "if it isn't broken, don't fix it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
very sweet and moist, i cooked them for 17 minutes in a muffin pan and they are wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
easy to follow and never fails, just an overall awesome and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susuberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Just tried this golden sweet cornbread. Indeed it is fluffy and right. Soaked my cornmeal in meal for some minutes while combining the rest of the dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Reduced my sugar and yet was so delish.i love it and will be making it again. My family and guests love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I found it to be too dry, too crumbly and lacking in flavor. I also had to cook it an extra 15 or so minutes for the middle to be completely cooked through, but by the time the middle was cooked the top was over cooked and the edges were burnt. I have a very old, inconsistent oven so maybe that was the reason, but I definitely will not try this recipe again until I have a different oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-Star

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Amazing corn bread. My bf said he does't even like corn bread but, he gobbled this right up. I have some in the oven right now. I make corn bread muffins. And it is corn bread so of course it crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Substituted melted margarine for the oil because that's what I had. Came out sweeter than I'm used to so next time maybe I'll use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States