Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Tiff
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Nice recipe! I didn't have enough milk, so I mixed some sour cream and water for the "milk". Added a ting more salt & some vanilla as suggested because I know how I like my food. Also added a little more oil as suggested in hopes of curing the crumbliness but it didn't work...probably because sour cream is richer than milk. However, even with the above, cornbread was awesome and fluffy. I think this recipe will be better using all milk versus my concoction, but it worked with just a bit of tang at the end. 4 stars because of crumbles. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I reduced the baking powder by a half teaspoon and used a quarter cup of butter and 1/8 a cup of olive oil instead of 1/3 c. vegetable oil. Also, made muffins instead of "bread." Came out great. My roommates asked what mix I used and acted all amazed when I told them I made them from scratch. They loved them, and I did too, and I'm not usually a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Just took a bite fresh out of the oven and it is FABULOUS!!! I followed the directions to the letter and it turned out wonderfully. My husband who is not a huge fan of cornbread loved it! No more jiffy mix for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
YUMMY.....this recipe is the best!!! I have never made homemade cornbread before and when I tried this one, I knew that I would never use boxed mixes again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This is delicious and easy. No more jiffy mix in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
It comes out absolutely perfect and it's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Cornbread heaven!!! This recipe is definitely 5-star in my book! I used buttermilk because I'm just partial to buttermilk in cornbread. I have tried various recipes in the past, but never found one that I liked as much as this one. as so many others have stated, it's a must to make this cornbread in a black cast iron skillet! Nothing else would do it justice! The only problem with this recipe is that you might eat all of it before you get to serve it to family or guests! Can't wait to make it again--and to even try a jalapeño version of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie K
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Easy and tastey just what I wanted. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Just tried it this morning after I had a huge craving for Cornbread. It was easy to make, I was literally on emails and conference calls while whipping this up and it turned out great. I actually used a 9inch glass pan and it worked fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I LOVE THIS CORNBREAD!!! Even my husband loves it, and he has some anti-cornbread baggage. It never lasts a day in our household. And living abroad, it makes me feel really American when I make it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lyttelton, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States