Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Everyone loved this! I followed the recipe exactly except 3/4 cup flour 1 and 1/4 cup cornmeal. Delicious!!! If I don't make buttermilk cornbread, this is my new go to recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Best sweet cornbread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I had lost my Mother's cornbread recipe and was delighted to find this one that was almost an exact match. Sweet and tasty, although I might try cutting the sugar back a tiny bit. I think this is a good basic recipe to which you could add jalapeño or cut corn or rosemary or anything else that works with cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Kolesaire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This recipe was perfection! I normally use Jiffy sweet cornbread mix but was out and then I found this recipe. The only thing I did different was use white cornmeal and powdered milk (as I don't keep regular milk as it spoil before it gets all used). I also cooked in a muffin tin sprayed with oil and cooked at 400 degrees for 20 min. Came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I love sweet cornbread, and this one hit the spot with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam  Starbuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Do not deviate- it's delicious exactly as the recipe is written! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNEJDL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made this recipe, but I didn't had enough flour so I switch the amount with the cornmeal and it came out good. Instead of 3 cups of flour I only put one and 3 of cornmeal. My whole family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is DELICIOUS cornbread! My hubby is a born & raised southern boy and he loves his sweet cornbread (as I do, too!). He just told me to never buy the box mix anymore (which was his favorite forever!). As so many other reviews suggested: I let the corn meal and milk soak while I prepared everything else. Note: my hubby is a diabetic and also must restrict sodium soooo I used 1/2 t. salt, 2 t. low sodium baking powder, a splash more oil and substituted Splenda's "white" sugar blend for baking. Winner, winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder was way too much and the bread had a strong taste of baking powder and 400 degrees was too high and aster 25 minutes was undone in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
My Grandmother loved what she called "Johnny cake" and after she came to live with us then got too sick to make it herself she taught me to make it. I was just a kid but I was happy to do the chore because she shared it with me. I haven't really made it sense she passed away.... (Have you ever done math in you head and came up with an answer that couldn't be right so you wrote it out and it turned out it WAS right) She passed away 30 years ago! (1984 Please check my math. I'm still not completely sure it's right) I think she got the recipe from HER grandmother who called it Johnny Cake around the time of the US Civil War I made this recipe the other day and it came out too crumblely so I tried again adding two eggs instead of one and it came out perfect. I miss my grandmother so I'm going to go enjoy my fresh "Johnny Cake" AKA Cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,940) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States