Golden Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
I was skeptical, but the cake turned out great, and without that chemical Twinkie after-taste!! It stayed moist for days. Carol has great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
While it's not really the flavor of a Twinkie, this stuff is TOO GOOD. Be sure to follow the "curing process" of letting the cake sit in the refrigerator and then for a day or so out of the 'fridge. I tried the cake as soon as I filled it and topped -- it was o.k. -- two days later, it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
This was one of the most popular cakes I've ever made. My sister who is a Twinkie fanatic LOVED it! It got her through the "Great Twinkie Famine". I will make this cake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I made this in a Bundt pan and piped the filling into the middle with a pastry bag. Much better than a twinkie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This cake was quite a hit at my office. I made it for our August birthday celebration and now I have been requested to make it again for the Sept party. I used about a 1/4 cup more sugar in the filling (I recommend tasting as you go). I wrapped it in saran and refrigerated it for about 36 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
My family loved it. Other cake mix flavors can be used. Chocolate is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Unbelievably tastes like a twinkie!!! This is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I made this for my daughter's birthday. Yum! The leftover cake stayed moist and delicious for days and I didn't want to keep eating it but I couldn't help myself! The filling was delicious even though it is extremely bad for the waistline! It was wonderful though and tasted even better than a Twinkie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I made this for my friend who is "addicted" to twinkies...he now wants the cake instead. Grandkids want if for birthdays. I use a "butter" recipe cake mix for a very rich cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
A hit at the parties. Both kids and adults love it. I had trouble slicing the cake lengthwise, so on my second attempt, I used to 9 inch rounds and put the filling between them. Much easier for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States