Golden Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Interesting cake, but not outstanding. It does resemble a Twinkie. I made it for a get-together and was disappointed that no one made any favorable comments about it nor requested the recipe. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I made this cake for our cook-out over the Memorial weekend. I followed the suggestion to make it a day ahead. It was FANTASTIC!!!! All of my guests couldn't wait to try it and all agreed it tasted like a Twinkie, but even better. I used a Duncan Hines yellow cake mix. I think Duncan Hines are the best cake mixes. The filling was fabulous and went together easily although you need to be prepared to beat it for several minutes. I agree it needed to be a tad sweeter and I ended up adding maybe 3 or 4 tablespoons of sugar. I made it Saturday afternoon and we ate it Sunday afternoon. I saved back a piece for myself and ate it Monday night. It was even better then. The second time I made this cake, I did it for church treats. I baked the cake mix in two cookie sheets. It was very thin. I doubled the filling and topped one cake with the other. They looked exactly like Little Debbie Banana Twins after I cut them. The entire church went crazy over the cake. One Lady said she had never had wedding cake that tasted as good. I will make this cake again and again and again.......Thank you Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I had to add more butter and sugar to the filling to make it taste right, but I think my shortening may have been a little old and was distorting the taste. Once I got the filling to taste right, it was really good. I used dental floss to cut through the middle of the cake, and it worked like a charm! Definately make this a day ahead. The longer it sat the more it tasted like a Twinkie. We ate a little each day for five days, and it tasted good up until the last day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
I too have had this same recipe for years. When I slice the cake in two, I cut the cake in half first. That way you can remove the top from each side easier. I also make sure I have enough left to frost the top with it too. This is THE favorite birthday cake with my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
good- yum, yum fyi- a cake cutter can be purchased at a craft store for about $3. this will make spliting cakes lenghtwise sooo extremely effortless-reminds you of a cheese slicer just a bunch bigger :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is awesome! The only change I made was I added 1/4 cup sugar to make the filling slightly sweeter. I used devil's food cake and made Suzy Q's and it tasted just like the real ones only better. For a variation, I divided the yellow cake (I used the butter recipe cake mix) and added 2 teas. banana extract to the cake mix and 2 teas. to the filling and made Banana Flips. It was incredible! Will definitely make this again and again. Thanks, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
While it's not really the flavor of a Twinkie, this stuff is TOO GOOD. Be sure to follow the "curing process" of letting the cake sit in the refrigerator and then for a day or so out of the 'fridge. I tried the cake as soon as I filled it and topped -- it was o.k. -- two days later, it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This cake was quite a hit at my office. I made it for our August birthday celebration and now I have been requested to make it again for the Sept party. I used about a 1/4 cup more sugar in the filling (I recommend tasting as you go). I wrapped it in saran and refrigerated it for about 36 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I made this in a Bundt pan and piped the filling into the middle with a pastry bag. Much better than a twinkie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Great Twinkie style Cream Filling! Instead of cake method I made cupcakes and then piped filling inside with a pastry tip. Grandkids loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States