Golden Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I admit, I always taste everything I make as soon as it's done to make sure it's good. But this cake definitely is better the next day as the recipe says! The filling is a little work to make, but turns out yummy. (Didn't taste like a Twinkie to me, but still good.) I even had enough to frost the top. Cutting a 9 by 13 cake in half lengthwise is not easy!! I think next time I will make 2 round cakes instead as previously suggested. That will make it a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
awesome!!!! always the hit of the party. lots of compliments. hint: follow the directions and make sure to refridgerate 24 hrs before cutting and serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Delicious! I also made using Devil's Food Cake Mix. Tasted like a Ho Ho or Devil Dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I made this cake for our cook-out over the Memorial weekend. I followed the suggestion to make it a day ahead. It was FANTASTIC!!!! All of my guests couldn't wait to try it and all agreed it tasted like a Twinkie, but even better. I used a Duncan Hines yellow cake mix. I think Duncan Hines are the best cake mixes. The filling was fabulous and went together easily although you need to be prepared to beat it for several minutes. I agree it needed to be a tad sweeter and I ended up adding maybe 3 or 4 tablespoons of sugar. I made it Saturday afternoon and we ate it Sunday afternoon. I saved back a piece for myself and ate it Monday night. It was even better then. The second time I made this cake, I did it for church treats. I baked the cake mix in two cookie sheets. It was very thin. I doubled the filling and topped one cake with the other. They looked exactly like Little Debbie Banana Twins after I cut them. The entire church went crazy over the cake. One Lady said she had never had wedding cake that tasted as good. I will make this cake again and again and again.......Thank you Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
A hit at the parties. Both kids and adults love it. I had trouble slicing the cake lengthwise, so on my second attempt, I used to 9 inch rounds and put the filling between them. Much easier for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I made this for my friend who is "addicted" to twinkies...he now wants the cake instead. Grandkids want if for birthdays. I use a "butter" recipe cake mix for a very rich cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I made this for my daughter's birthday. Yum! The leftover cake stayed moist and delicious for days and I didn't want to keep eating it but I couldn't help myself! The filling was delicious even though it is extremely bad for the waistline! It was wonderful though and tasted even better than a Twinkie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Unbelievably tastes like a twinkie!!! This is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This was ok, might make again. It only sorta tasted like a twinkie, but it was good in its own way. Definitely need to make it at least 24 hours ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
I made this as a Bundt cake. I didn't let hubby touch it for two days thanks to previous reviews. It was tough to keep him away, but well worth it. What a delicious and unusual cake! The filling does take a little effort but is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States