Golden Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I made this for a coworker's birthday and it got rave reviews. I use coconut oil generally in place of shortening or vegetable oil in my baking so I substituted it in the filling and the cake mix. I also used coconut milk instead of regular milk and the filling was so yummy and creamy. I will definitely be making this again. Also refrigerated it for 24 hours then took it out and it was another 36 hours before we actually ate it. So the advice in the other reviews about letting it sit a day or two was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I don't know-this one was really disappointing. I made for my husband and daughter, as this recipe is right up their alley. The filling tasted so greasy, it left a film in my mouth. It was really just sweetened Crisco. My family usually fights over leftovers, but this cake sat in my fridge for a week before I finally gave up and tossed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This has become a standard birthday cake for our family. I just made this cake for about the 5th time for my twin's 2nd Birthday. Make sure you make stick to the reviews and make it at least two days ahead of time. I make it two days ahead and the frost it the day that i need it. a wonderful cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This recipe is very nice, but I wouldn't say it's the "best" use for yellow cake mix. I followed the recipe but made cupcakes instead and then filled them. They ended up tasting like gourmet Twinkies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toodlebutt
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Made a Sponge Bob Squarepants cake using this recipe. Everyone loved the cake's taste as much if not better than the theme of it. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
here's an easy tip for filling cupcakes with creme --- use an apple corer to remove a "core" of cake from the center of the cupcake(don't push it down all the way to the bottom). pipe creme into the empty space and then plug up the top with a "cap" of cake. easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This is my husband's favorite cake. We all love it and I use it regularly to make cupcakes to take to any function. By using chocolate cake mix, the frosting as listed and drizzling melted milk chocolate over the top, this turns into a very elegant dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I had this cake when I was younger and forgot about it until I saw it on this site. It is such an easy recipe and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This is a good cake. We think it would be even better served with a strawberry topping. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Clover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This cake is amazing and tastes very much like a twinkie. A twist that I found on accident was using Maple extract instead of vanilla. What you get is a "Pancake Cake" Tastes just like your morning pancakes. I also make this as cupcakes, keep all the ingredients the same just slice the cupcakes in half, spread the filling and refridgerate. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States