Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda Craig
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
My first time making this cake. ..had a little bit of a problem with the glaze. ..but didn't let that bother me. ..made another batch. came out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Wonderful! First time I made this I followed the directions exactly. It was too much rum flavor. This time I added the rum to the glaze during the last 2 minutes of cooking. This helped to burn off the alcohol flavor, but still left plenty of rum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
delicious! the variations I made: -instead of vanilla I used butterscotch instant pudding -I used a yellow buttermilk cake recipe instead of box cake mix -real butter instead of veggie oil -pecan bits instead of walnut I took the advice of another poster and slit holes In the bottom of the cake while it is reinserted Into the pan for the glazing part.....so moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
What do you do now that the classic yellow cake mix SIZE from Pillsbury has changed from 18.25 to 15.25? And it has the pudding in it now too. Do you not add the pudding? Does it matter about the cake mix size? Appreciate your imput.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This was a big hit at my house today. First time making a rum cake. Only two changes that I made. I used all white Calico Jack Coconut Rum. Feel comfortable using the full cup as it is a delicate rum. I also put HALF of the chopped pecans on the bottom & I mixed the other HALF into the batter. We loved it. Thanks for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is an excellent recipe that people have been making since the 1970's or so. It's the original Bacardi Rum Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe for 40 years. It was originally published in the 70s or early 80s by Bacardi and was known as the Bacardi rum cake. I too make it was Myer's rum because it's much smoother. This, however, is not an original recipe for rum cake and credit should be given to Bacardi. I still have the original recipe card that we got from the liquor store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was AMAZING! I followed the suggestion to use Myers Dark Rum for the cake and Appleton's for the glaze. Let it sit for a day and that's about all you'll see of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Garbacz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I know this recipe as Puerto Rican rum cake. I've made it lots of times and it's a winner. To me it needs more rum sauce but I make it as is. If you've ever had the Tortuga Rum Cake (YUMMY) I think it has less rum than that one. I've had Irish whiskey cake and to me that has a lot of liquor but oh so good! After I bake it I leave in pan poke holes and pour most of the sauce in the holes so it CAN BE ABSORBED IN THE CAKE. Once cooled I flip it onto plate and pour the rest on top. Delish Ps. I used butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,013) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States