Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Delicious! I was a little concerned about all the glaze being poured on top, but it was perfect. Very rummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. He loves run and coconut and he's not an eater of traditional birthday cake so thought he'd love it. Definitely will make this again. I didn't have the pudding mix so added some coconut oil, about 1/2 cup. I also used half dark and half white rums and some fresh coconut flakes. I didn't have a traditional bundt pan so made due as I could. Didn't matter, the cake was amazing. So moist and the glaze makes it so decadent. Amazingly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Great base to use as base for piña colada cake minus the walnuts. Poke holes throughout when cooled. Poor sweetened and cream of coconut to soak cake. Cover with large can drained crushed pineapple then cool whip and sprinkle with toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Excellent....I have made this cake numerous times using a couple of types of rum. I advise using "top shelf" rum. A cheaper rum seems to leave an aftertaste that the premium rum doesn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
By far my absolute favorite cake. Forget chocolate or buttercream or anything else, I want this cake! So moist and delicious. And it just gets better with age (a few days anyway). I used a light Bacardi rum and left off the walnuts, it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
The best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times with several variations by changing the cake mix, pudding mix, and the alcohol. So far I've made yellow pumpkin Kahlua, chocolate Kahlua and coconut lime. I bake in cupcake pans for about 22 minutes, cool, and put the glaze into the pan before putting them back in to soak. After taking back out, they are almost saturated, but they do dry to a sticky coating and are delicious! It does have a decent kick from the glaze, so it's definitely not for the kiddos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this in little bunt shaped pans. Actually, I turned a waffle cone mold upside down to make them look like mini bunt cakes. It was awesome, and helped control portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelenaFrazier
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I decided to make this cake for a family gathering, but as I started mixing the batter I realised the bottle of rum I thought I had wasn't there....in a panic I noticed a bottle of Amaretto...so out of desparation thats what I grabbed...it was delicious!! I just switched out the walnuts for some almonds to match the flavor and it came out perfect! Might even prefer it to the rum lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I really enjoyed this cake, but only one guest said it was a little too strong - I did not think it was strong, I could barely taste the rum. I followed other users reviews and put half of the walnuts in the cake mix, the other half on top. I was also worried about the strong taste, so I used 1/2 dark rum 1/2 coconut rum in both the cake mix and on top. I think next time I'll use all dark in the cake (since it cooks out) and all lighter rum on top. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,018) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States