Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Everyone loves this cake! Do make it with milk instead of water. I omit the nuts. To make additional glaze I melt an additional 1/4 cup butter, then add in 1/4 cup more rum and 1/2 cup powdered sugar. It is absolutely perfect, amazingly yummy, and great for breakfast! The idea of putting the cake back in the pan to soak up the glaze is genius. Add bananas and banana rum for a banana rum cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved it! I used Whalers Vanilla Rum and tried it with a Devils Chocolate cake mix and instant chocolate pudding mix. Very Good! It is quite boozy so cut back on the rum in the glaze if you don't want it too boozy but we like it just the way it is. (or add it earlier and cook some of it out). Make sure you use a good quality rum. Don't substitute the butter in the glaze- its a butter rum glaze for a reason. Make the glaze while the cake bakes - then cool the glaze a bit before adding the rum to it so it doesn't evaporate the alcohol. The authors tip about pouring the glaze into the Bundt pan then reinserting the cake works awesome. This would also be fantastic with a dollop of fresh whipped cream. Tastes even better the next day - not AS boozy after it sits for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My cake didn't soak up all the glaze. I think next time I'll poke some holes in it. It's awesome with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
OH MAN! This was fantastic! I poured the glaze on the underside of the hot cake (after pricking with a skewer) as others have suggested, and added a little straight rum to the top once it was cooled and flipped. Perfect amount of rum flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this cake exactly as stated in the recipe. After the cake was done I let it cool for 10-15 minutes then removed it from the pan. I poked about 40-50 holes in the top of the cake with a metal skewer and spooned on some glaze. Then I poured glaze into the bundt pan and replaced the cake. Then I poked 40-50 holes in the bottom of the cake and spooned the rest of the glaze on. I let it sit in the pan for a few hours then removed it onto my cake plate. I made the cake about 36 hours ahead of time and by the the time we went to eat it after Christmas dinner the rum flavor had mellowed quite a bit. There are some complaints in the reviews about the cake being too "rummy" but I think this can be solved by NOT digging into the cake immediately after making it. I also made homemade whipped cream with vanilla, and a pinch of cinnamon, ginger, and allspice to serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was a hit for a friend's birthday party, and again a few weeks later for a potluck. So easy. So rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Outstanding recipe! This is the first rum cake I've ever made and it turned out great. I followed the recipe to the letter this time but next time I make it I'm going to add German Chocolate icing to the batter and use a Parrot Bay Rum glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
The cake turned out fantastic! I used Betty Crocker yellow mix which has pudding mix in it but I still added the pudding mix anyways. I added some crushed walnuts in the batter like others suggested. Now I am addicted to it. I am doing the chocolate version right this minute. Hope it will turn out good as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chiri
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Easy and yummy, of course I added nuts to the batter..turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chiri
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I searched the stores and could not find 18.5 oz. cake mix. So I went ahead and used the smaller quantity available, and it didn't seem to make any difference. Or maybe I don't know what I missed! I guess it's another case of less product for the same money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 983) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States