Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I love rum cake. I have to say I had a problem with the cake falling too much and in a weird pattern after being removed from the oven. I think it tastes good and i do not have an issue with the amount of rum. Has anyone had the same problem with the cake falling? is it due to not mixing the pudding and cake mix enough?? Any feedback would be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Yum! This was the very 1 st cake I have ever made and it turned out Great!!! Super easy and everyone loved the cake:) Thanks Jackie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is the exact recipe I've been using for years. The only thing that I do different is when I take the cake out of the oven, I IMMEDIATELY pour the hot glaze mixture over the top of the cake while it is still in the pan. This way it settles the cake and soaks in all of that rum goodness. Wait 30 minutes before inverting onto your serving plate. It's always better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Deeee-lish! I cut the glaze in 1/2 the 2nd time I made it. The full amount is way too much unless you want the cake to weigh 10lbs :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I made this cake for my stepmom's birthday, at her request. I'm not one who typically bakes a cake from a boxed mix but I've go to tell you, this went over extremely well with the group who devoured it. I used pecans instead of walnuts (stepmom's request) and used Captain Morgan spiced rum which was just fine in this. Very moist and flavorful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Only goes this cake is amazing not one you want to make all the time though because it is far from being at all good for you...everyone always loves it though... I used lite rum because that is all I had and it still turned out great.... Next time I will follow the advice of the other reviewers and poke holes in the cake pour half the glaze in the pan and let it soak in... Great recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I love this. Putting the cake back in the pan with the rum sauce really is brilliant. That said some of my family find the sauce overpowering...just a caution if you will serving this to anyone who might not appreciate the flavor. I have made this twice...the 2nd time I used butterscotch pudding and mixed in a cup of butterscotch chips. It was good but honestly the cake is already great as is. So while it was fun to experiment. I will probably stick with the recipe as written from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Everyone loves this cake! Do make it with milk instead of water. I omit the nuts. To make additional glaze I melt an additional 1/4 cup butter, then add in 1/4 cup more rum and 1/2 cup powdered sugar. It is absolutely perfect, amazingly yummy, and great for breakfast! The idea of putting the cake back in the pan to soak up the glaze is genius. Add bananas and banana rum for a banana rum cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved it! I used Whalers Vanilla Rum and tried it with a Devils Chocolate cake mix and instant chocolate pudding mix. Very Good! It is quite boozy so cut back on the rum in the glaze if you don't want it too boozy but we like it just the way it is. (or add it earlier and cook some of it out). Make sure you use a good quality rum. Don't substitute the butter in the glaze- its a butter rum glaze for a reason. Make the glaze while the cake bakes - then cool the glaze a bit before adding the rum to it so it doesn't evaporate the alcohol. The authors tip about pouring the glaze into the Bundt pan then reinserting the cake works awesome. This would also be fantastic with a dollop of fresh whipped cream. Tastes even better the next day - not AS boozy after it sits for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My cake didn't soak up all the glaze. I think next time I'll poke some holes in it. It's awesome with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 990) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States