Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Have made this cake several times and it always turns out great. I just tried a variation that was awesome. I used Malibu Caribbean Rum with coconut liqueur and added 3/4 C of coconut to the cake. I also used the Pillsbury cake mix with pudding and still added the vanilla pudding. Instead of walnuts I used pecans. This was the moistest and most flavor able rum cake I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Yess!!! I also added more rum than the recipe and it spilled all over the floor. Oops! Great recipe...cake so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I can't believe that I've NEVER rated this recipe, SCRUMPTIOUS. I do substitute PECANS for the walnuts (I'm from South Carolina and pecans reign!). Once the cake is baked I remove the it from the bundt pan (while warm however cool enough to handle), add the glaze into the bundt pan, and seat the cake back into the bundt pan placed on a wire rack to cool. Great recipe which I used many times with rave reviews from all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Delicious! I was a little concerned about all the glaze being poured on top, but it was perfect. Very rummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. He loves run and coconut and he's not an eater of traditional birthday cake so thought he'd love it. Definitely will make this again. I didn't have the pudding mix so added some coconut oil, about 1/2 cup. I also used half dark and half white rums and some fresh coconut flakes. I didn't have a traditional bundt pan so made due as I could. Didn't matter, the cake was amazing. So moist and the glaze makes it so decadent. Amazingly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I really want to try this recipe, but 18.25 oz. cake mixes are no longer available. They are all now around 14.25 or 14.5 oz. and I have tried making just plain cakes with them in my 8" pans or 9" x 13" with horrible results. They turn out flat (less than 1" high), and are hard. They even shrivel away from the sides as they're baking. Can this recipe be changed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Great base to use as base for piña colada cake minus the walnuts. Poke holes throughout when cooled. Poor sweetened and cream of coconut to soak cake. Cover with large can drained crushed pineapple then cool whip and sprinkle with toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Excellent....I have made this cake numerous times using a couple of types of rum. I advise using "top shelf" rum. A cheaper rum seems to leave an aftertaste that the premium rum doesn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
By far my absolute favorite cake. Forget chocolate or buttercream or anything else, I want this cake! So moist and delicious. And it just gets better with age (a few days anyway). I used a light Bacardi rum and left off the walnuts, it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
The best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 983) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States