Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe. I had to make a few modifications because where I live in France, some ingredients are either not available or not exactly the same. Therefore, I substituted cheddar cheese for the american cheese and bacon for the ham. The other thing I always always do is sautee the vegetables (onion & celery) first. I just prefer the flavors that sauteeing brings out. I Fried the bacon and set aside. Used 2 tbsp. of bacon drippings to sautee the onion & celery then followed the recipe as stated. I added the bacon (crumbled) at the point where the ham would have been added. This is by far my favorite potato soup recipe that I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Made this for dinner last night...and OH MY GOD!!! This is IT!! I didnt have any ham so I use some keilbasa...threw that in while it was simmering, also added some crushed garlic...YUM..It's all gone and I am going to make more for dinner tonight. Perfect for COLD WINTER NIGHTS!!! Thanks Marge! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
THIS SOUP IT GREAT!! THE FIRST TIME I MADE IT THE SOUP WAS TOO THICK FOR ME, SO ON THE SECOND TRY I DOUBLED THE WATER AND THE BULLION AND ONLY USED 1CUP OF THE CHEESE. I WILL BE MAKING THIS REGULARLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Ok, I don't often leave "reviews" but this time I gotta! My hubby said he wanted potato soup for dinner so, not having a great recipe, I ran to allrecipes.com and tried this... it's fantastic! Everyone, including my picky 8 and 2 yr. olds loved it! I'm going to email this to my sisters and mom. Yum. The only thing I did differently is to use Colby cheese as it's all I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
My whole family enjoyed this recipe. I substituted frozen cubed hashbrown potatoes for the fresh potatoes to speed up preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This soup was very good. I tripled the recipe, added broccoli, sauteed the onions before adding them to the potatoes, and partially blended it before adding cheese and ham to thicken it a bit. I served it with Fantastic Foccaccia Bread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
We really like this soup. It was easy and fast. I like that it uses ingredients I already have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
Very good - even with skim milk and no ham. Would make again, but would double the recipe as it doesn't really allow for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Great soup...a family favorite. I added 1/2 cup chopped carrots, a LITTLE more liquids (to get the consistency right for my family), used velveeta cheese and no ham...since it is a potato soup. Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
My kids liked it and hubby who doesn't like soup loved it. It is a very filling, meatless dish (I didn't add the ham) and used ingredients I had on hand already. Similar recipes called for sour cream, cream, etc that I didn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States