Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, I did make some changes. I sauteed the onion and celery in a bit of butter along with a little crushed garlic. Instead of using bouillon/water, I substituted enough chicken broth to cover the potatoes....I just plain forgot the bouillon while at the store. I will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is my very first recipe to follow and make! I'm a newbie to the cooking world and craved this soup so this one looked promising!. I made it for me and my boyfriend of 8years and he couldn't believe how good it came out! I followed all the steps but added more liquid both parts equally as others did and used ham.. lets just say this is the 3RD time I'm making this again! perfect for cold days/nights and the ingredients are always something you have in your kitchen. Highly recommend at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This soup was incredibly delicious! I substituted the water for vegetable broth and used beef bacon (pre cooked) instead of ham. I also deglazed the pan I prepared the bacon in and added it to the soup. Threw it all in the crockpot on low for four hours, adding cheese in the last ten mins and it was fabulous! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I used chicken broth instead (2 cans) and I added some ground beef (I didn't have ham, but next time will use that). I also added cheese into it, then a little when it was done for topping (I love cheese and so do my kids). I wasn't sure at first because it didn't look like it was thickening up, and it took about an hour and half for it to be ready. Oh, and I did add some carrots because I love carrots :) Anyway, it was great. I loved it and it will be a perfect dish this winter when it gets cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Great recipe! We added a finely chopped red bell pepper for some color. This soup was a definite hit with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devan Muir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Awesome recipe Marge. I had been looking for the perfect potato soup and by golly I've found it. Only thing different i did was add .5 tsp of minced garlic and instead of the ham i used bacon bits. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Delicious! I made a roux and added 50% cheddar and 50% Monterey Jack. So easy and quick. Sometimes you just don't want to made soup in a crock pot and wait for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Yes ! It took little time to make and fabulous flavor I doubled the potatoes and added an extra amount of chicken bouillon. I also added ham small cubes served it with cheese and bacon bits and small ham/ cheese pannini type sandwiches on French bread ! Great on cold day ! 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supermom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I was worried it would taste too plain but it wasn't. I really like thick soup and this did the job. I did add 2 strips crumbled bacon and the bacon fat. I used 3 tsp flour. Part american cheese and part cheddar. I didn't rush cooking it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States