Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Delicious! I made a roux and added 50% cheddar and 50% Monterey Jack. So easy and quick. Sometimes you just don't want to made soup in a crock pot and wait for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Yes ! It took little time to make and fabulous flavor I doubled the potatoes and added an extra amount of chicken bouillon. I also added ham small cubes served it with cheese and bacon bits and small ham/ cheese pannini type sandwiches on French bread ! Great on cold day ! 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supermom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I was worried it would taste too plain but it wasn't. I really like thick soup and this did the job. I did add 2 strips crumbled bacon and the bacon fat. I used 3 tsp flour. Part american cheese and part cheddar. I didn't rush cooking it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHERYLBH
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
FANTASTIC! Changes I made were: -used dried minced onion in place of chopped onion... 1TBSP = 1/2 cup of onion -left out celery (because I don't like it) -used chicken broth instead of water + bouillon, as other reviewers had suggested (thank you) -cheddar cheese in place of American (I honestly don't think I've ever seen shredded AMERICAN cheese) -and used half & half for about a third of the milk... just to make it richer tasting -Also... I sautéed my flour in a little butter on the stove before SLOWLY adding the milk... it makes it smoother with no lumps And you can buy the ham already diced in the package. I quadrupled the recipe for a ladies retreat at church... it wasn't hard at all & well worth the effort! Thank you Marge, for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This soup was great and easy to make. I did make one minor change, rather than adding ham, I added crispy bacon right at the end of the cooking process (Can never go wrong with bacon!) In addition, based on a few other reviews on here, I used chicken broth instead of mixing water and bouillon. Worked really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJR2D2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Just what I was looking for. A low calorie, but flavorful potato soup. We did add more water and milk, and substituted a garlic sausage instead of ham. Other than that, recipe was perfect, easy, and liked by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I've never made potato soup before; but I loved this recipe. Unfortunately; I didnt have the chicken bouillon or ham/bacon. Instead of celery I put in green beans that I cut into small pieces. For the bouillon I substitued the green bean juice, about 3 tbl sps. It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sainte Genevieve, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Delicious! I used a cup of homemade chicken broth instead of the boilion cube and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was wondeful! My guests also raved about it. I used all the ingredients called for (except the ham and I used chicken broth instead of water/bouillon) but made the following changes in preparation: I sauteed the onion and celery in bacon grease, then added the flour. Then I stirred in chicken broth (3 cups) and the milk and brought to a boil. I then added the potatoes and spices and simmered until the potatoes were tender. I stirred in the cheese and served with bacon bits and green onions. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise White Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ariton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Tasted better than anything I've had in a restaurant. I used new potatoes and a great tasting smoked ham - minced instead of chopped. I added a bit of butter and some green onions, and I used Velveeta Queso Blanco shreds for the cheese. Even though my husband prefers my old-fashioned potato soup, this is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States