Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by kaleb
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Easy and quick with items you always have. Plus it's a hearty meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Loved it!!! Made it just as instructed and turned out simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This is yummy. I turned it into a creamy potato soup. I used 4 cups potatoes to make the soup thicker and added 1/2 cup chopped carrots. I sauteed the onions, celery, and carrots first, and added minced garlic to taste. Instead of the water and bouillon, I used one cup of low sodium chicken broth because we are a low-sodium household. For that same reason, I omitted bacon or ham. I pureed the veggies and broth, then added the milk and flour mixture. Used cheddar cheese for a better cheese taste and sprinkled chopped green onions on the top just before serving. All in all, my mother said "this is a keeper". I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adkhkr44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I didn't have any chopped ham, so I substituted Johnsonville smoked sausage instead. It gave it such a smoky delicious flavor! This soup was delicious!! The only other thing I did differently was omit the celery as no one in my house likes it. A keeper recipe for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Tripled the recipe, and omitted the celery. Used 8 oz velveeta for the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Wow!!!!! This was amazing!!!!!! Did not change anything except that I used havarti cheese since it was what I had, and it was soo flavorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innominate Chef
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I doubled everything for our family of 7 and tripled the water/bouillon, used red and gold potatoes with skins on. Used Spinach-Feta sausage instead of ham. Added broccoli also, sautéed celery & onion. Cut back milk to 2 cups (doubled would be 3c) and added 1 can Cream of Celery, plus 1 can Cream of Chicken soup to the milk/flour mixture, mixed until smooth & added to stock. I took advice from other cooks and used a masher before adding milk to cut down size of potatoes - but leave them chunky enough for potato chunks, don't make mashed potatoes! It helped thicken it up - perfect consistency. Necessary to season this soup - used Onion powder, garlic powder, ground pepper and a lot of salt. Add sausage not long after milk & soup mixture and let simmer on low, so the meat spices & tastes permeate soup. Add cheese before serving. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Made this very good. I followed the recipe as is. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hoopamy
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Very very yummy!! My entire family ate this soup up with very little leftovers and that was making a double batch. If you have many to feed I would choose to increase the initial recipe by 3-4 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Easy, good-tasting, and not loaded with processed food. This recipe has it all! I gave it a quick stir with my immersion blender and garnished with some crumbled bacon. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States