Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Delicious! I used turkey bacon, double the potatoes and double the water to make the recipe go further. I still used a cup of cheese, didn't double that, to save on fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This soup is INCREDIBLE! word of caution: it doesn't make a lot. i doubled the recipe for 6 people and didn't have leftovers. besides that, it's perfect! i just added bacon instead of ham because i didn't have any, and added chopped green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cebaker91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was pretty good soup! I did change a few ingredients though.... I used half and half instead of milk and did not add the ham. We topped ours with a little shredded cheddar, sprinkled some chopped chives, and some crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Good.... Too thick and a little overboard on the cheese. Next time I'll try adding more milk and water and less cheese bc it wasn't soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.Waters

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AwiCakes
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I used this recipe once before, years ago. My family loved it. Just the other day my sister mentioned she had a craving for potato soup. I found this recipe again and had everything that it called for. I didn't follow the recipe to the "T", but my soup came out AMAZING. And i have this recipe to thank. One of the changes i made was to first saute the onion and celery in the pot with some butter, added one clove of garlic, s&p, and sauteed them until tender. Then added the potatoes and sauteed altogether for maybe 10 minutes. Added the water & some crispy bacon, and simmered. When the potatoes were close to being fork tender, i then added the "flour-milk" mixture. I brought it up to a boil and added some shredded Colby-jack (a little at a time) and reduced the heat. I left it a little thinner, being that it usually thickens up after the temp cools down. I just used the seasonings "to taste". IT was WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwiCakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Base of the soup is key. I used this as the base, then built on it. 1) Fry up some bacon, retaining the grease. 2) Mix the flour into the grease and make a roux. 3) Add 1/2 cup half and half (or milk) and mix until smooth. Add to stock pot with other ingredients (except for cheese & bacon) and only 1 cup of milk. 4) Simmer on low until potatoes are soft. Mix in cheese and bacon, simmer until cheese melts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
We loved this soup. My husband said it was better than his mom's potato soup he grew up on. Yay! I doubled the recipe and found there was not enough water to boil the veggies, so added an additional cup. It was very thick after adding the milk and flour so added more milk to thin it out a little. It didn't effect the taste at all, very tasty. DH wants it once a week in the fall/winter, so I guess I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I have been making potato soup since I learned how to make it in 8th grade home ec. Lots of variations. This was one was so tasty and so straight forward. Made two changes because of pantry limitations. Cheddar for American, bacon for ham. I was hoping for leftovers for my next day lunch day, but no, not a drop left. I will try it again with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Very tasty and simple to make! A fall/winter fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Great soup!! I work at a restaurant that is famous for their potato soup and I like this better. Really cheesy and the kids and my husband LOVE it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States