Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Base of the soup is key. I used this as the base, then built on it. 1) Fry up some bacon, retaining the grease. 2) Mix the flour into the grease and make a roux. 3) Add 1/2 cup half and half (or milk) and mix until smooth. Add to stock pot with other ingredients (except for cheese & bacon) and only 1 cup of milk. 4) Simmer on low until potatoes are soft. Mix in cheese and bacon, simmer until cheese melts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
We loved this soup. My husband said it was better than his mom's potato soup he grew up on. Yay! I doubled the recipe and found there was not enough water to boil the veggies, so added an additional cup. It was very thick after adding the milk and flour so added more milk to thin it out a little. It didn't effect the taste at all, very tasty. DH wants it once a week in the fall/winter, so I guess I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I have been making potato soup since I learned how to make it in 8th grade home ec. Lots of variations. This was one was so tasty and so straight forward. Made two changes because of pantry limitations. Cheddar for American, bacon for ham. I was hoping for leftovers for my next day lunch day, but no, not a drop left. I will try it again with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Very tasty and simple to make! A fall/winter fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Great soup!! I work at a restaurant that is famous for their potato soup and I like this better. Really cheesy and the kids and my husband LOVE it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I'm vegetarian, so I just dropped the meat and substituted vegetable stock for the chicken bouillon, and my boyfriend hates celery, so I substituted a couple carrots, cubed. I also left the peel on the potato (I'm lazy when it comes to peeling ... and it's healthier, right?). Delicious!! It's very hearty and filling, but tasted so good that we kept eating even after we were full :) Went to bed with stomach-aches. Worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Lucinda Richey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
EXCELLENT!! That's all I can say! I didn't have any parsley or celery on hand so I just left them out and it was still amazing! I also cooked some bacon and chopped it up to add at the end instead of ham. By far the best potato soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Made the recipe exactly, and it's AMAZING! Great, thick soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Great recipe! I doubled it and had left overs that were still as good heated up! Best potato soup I've found so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keekpotato
Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States