Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Yum! I followed the recipe exactly and was delighted with the result. My entire family devoured their soup. You could probably reduce the amount of cheese (or choose a lower sodium variety), as the end-product was borderline too salty for my taste. However, the rest of the family gave no indication of having noticed this...so I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Really good! The only think that I changed was I used about 4 different kinds of cheeses - just because I dont really like American! Perfect for a fall day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I've been making this recipe for a few years now..I change it up a little though. I use fresh parsley...and add a handful of chopped green onions...as well as some fresh minced garlic. After the milk/flour mixture is added and allowed to thicken a touch I add chopped, cooked bacon( with the grease) instead of ham...much better flavor! I get RAVE reviews everytime! I also use Velveeta shreds...if I can't get that I chop regular old velveeta...you can't go wrong..it's DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
this was a really good start for a first time potato soup maker. I used an immersion blender to thicken it a bit rather than all the cheese. I did add some of the cheese, about half towards the end, added some garlic and parsley flakes. Didnt use any meat in the soup, only used crumbled cooked bacon on top when serving. Thank you for the very easy recipe, my family LOVED it! Just a note, I made bread bowls from pillsbury french loaf and served in those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I used chicken broth vs water & cheddar vs american cheese so the variation may be why I didn't give it 5 starts. It still lacks zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was amazing! No one in my family likes onions so I used half the onions but doubled the rest of the recipe, and on top of using american cheese, I used cheddar cheese as well. I gave some to my neighbor and she called me and told me it was the best potato soup ever, and I am probably going to gain ten pounds before it's all gone. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I made this recipe today and my kids LOVED it. I added more black pepper but other than that it was PERFECT! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asomante, Aibonito, Puerto Rico
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Made it without the meat and added fresh parsley instead of dried but came out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haroldathampton
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was really good, I used bacon instead of ham, and it was very bacon-y, so I would probably use less bacon next time. I'm not marking down stars for that, because the recipe was supposed to bacon instead of ham. It was a little thicker than I wanted (may have been from me simmering to long) so I added a bit more milk. Other than that, super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This dish is perfect on a cold night !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surpy77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States