Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was very yummy and supper easy. I doubled it, and we have lots! I think I will make a bread bowl to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was OK, but not my favorite. I have a similar potato soup recipe that uses smoked sausage and corn (no celery) along with the cheese and potatoes and we like that a whole lot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It was awesome. I did modified it a bit. I doubled up the recipe. However, instead of doubling the amount of potatoes, I added broccoli, cauliflower, and green onions. I also didn't have enough of one kind of cheese...I used mild cheddar and some swiss...It was nice, thick, and creamy. Great for a winter's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Loved, loved, loved this soup! This is definitely THE soup recipe for our family!!! I doubled the recipe so that we would have leftovers for workday lunch. The only thing we omitted was the celery and that is just because I don't like it in soup. This really is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Easy and tasty! I always use ready-to-use chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon, and I double it to 2 cups. I also saute the onions, celery in 1 tbsp. of butter before adding potatoes and broth. I also add 1 clove of minced garlic for extra flavor. I only use a little shredded cheese as topping in each bowl before serving. I also top it with a little chopped green onion. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is one of the best potato soup recipes I've ever tried. I used kielbasa instead of ham and sauted the kielbasa with onions (left out the celery) and minced garlic and added it to the soup at the end. I also used cheddar cheese instead of American cheese. I added extra water and a little milk to thin it since it was so thick. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I can't believe the liquid quantities that were recommended. I put in at leat twice that much water in order to make it soup instead of stew, and it's still plenty thick. Flavor is good, but would have been awfully thick--not soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Loved this soup. Only change I made was used cheddar cheese instead of american, but soup was easy and very tasty. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wanted to make something with my leftover ham from New Year's day and didn't want to have to go out to the store..it's freezing here! Turned out to be a delicious choice. I always try to make as directed and had everything. I threw in a cup of Tex Mex already grated cheese as I was feeling lazy..but felt guilty and for the rest decided to add grated cheddar as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Stephenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Yeah, yeah, I know. I'm rating a recipe that I made a lot of changes to. But I like seeing reviews like this. It shows me the realm of possibilities. Since I am dieting, I subbed cauliflower for the potatoes. I also used a can of chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon. I omitted the flour, added half the salt, added 1 c. FF evaporated milk, added 1 c. 2% cheese, along with the specified amounts of ham, celery, onion, parsley, and pepper. I really liked this soup, and it fits great on my diet plan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 171-180 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States