Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is a hearty soup and good tasting. I also thinned it down with double amounts of water. We like soup alittle thinner. For a different flavor try removing the seeds and membranes of two jalapenos - chopping them to add with veggies while cooking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
very thick and tasty soup. I went a little overboard with my cheese but I loved it. Also substituted ham for bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Excellent recipe! Will definitely keep this one! I added a tsp of chopped garlic, sauteed the celery and onions, and used bacon! I also used a mixture of colby, monterrey jack, and cheddar cheeses! Just read through all the comments and combined the ingredients that others had tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This is so unbelievably rich and wonderful! I always add a little bacon and chives as a topper - BEST soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunnyNacho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
My family loved this! My 5 year old picky eater ate 2 full bowls. I didn't have any ham handy so I added ground sausage after I browned it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alwayslivenlearn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Delicious! I used turkey bacon, double the potatoes and double the water to make the recipe go further. I still used a cup of cheese, didn't double that, to save on fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This soup is INCREDIBLE! word of caution: it doesn't make a lot. i doubled the recipe for 6 people and didn't have leftovers. besides that, it's perfect! i just added bacon instead of ham because i didn't have any, and added chopped green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cebaker91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was pretty good soup! I did change a few ingredients though.... I used half and half instead of milk and did not add the ham. We topped ours with a little shredded cheddar, sprinkled some chopped chives, and some crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Good.... Too thick and a little overboard on the cheese. Next time I'll try adding more milk and water and less cheese bc it wasn't soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.Waters

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AwiCakes
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I used this recipe once before, years ago. My family loved it. Just the other day my sister mentioned she had a craving for potato soup. I found this recipe again and had everything that it called for. I didn't follow the recipe to the "T", but my soup came out AMAZING. And i have this recipe to thank. One of the changes i made was to first saute the onion and celery in the pot with some butter, added one clove of garlic, s&p, and sauteed them until tender. Then added the potatoes and sauteed altogether for maybe 10 minutes. Added the water & some crispy bacon, and simmered. When the potatoes were close to being fork tender, i then added the "flour-milk" mixture. I brought it up to a boil and added some shredded Colby-jack (a little at a time) and reduced the heat. I left it a little thinner, being that it usually thickens up after the temp cools down. I just used the seasonings "to taste". IT was WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwiCakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States