Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
WOW! Absolutely amazing soup... I did take a tip from one of the reviewers and substituted bacon for the ham... I sauteed the celery and onion in the bacon grease... then added it to the soup, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
THIS SOUP WAS FANTASTIC!!! I did tweek it just a bit though....instead of adding the chopped ham, I added a bag of bacon bits (the ones that are like real bacon) it saved time and there was no mess. It was so good :) my whole family loved it...will DEFINATELY make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Thanks! tweaked it a little by adding some garlic powder and sour cream, but that was just bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
super easy and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I made this since I had ham and potatoes to use up. It is alright. Just not a favor profile that my husband I really care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I had to change some things to use what I had on hand. I subbed cooked crumbled bacon for the ham and diced carrots for the celery. I followed everything else though, and this turned out nice. I didn't have shredded american cheese, so I just topped each bowl with a slice of colby-jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is was a very good recipe!! It used ingredients I had on hand, was easy and taste great. I didn't have onion, celery, or ham so I just didn't add them. Next time I make it I will add 1/2 tsp minced garlic, 2/3 strips cooked and crumbled bacaon and i would use a little less cheese! Great recipe and for sure a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very easy and good. I doubled everything except the vegetables and added sliced kielbasa instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Delicious as well as simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCGEORGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe!! My daughter requested potato soup this morning. I found this recipe for lunch and knew I had all the ingredients (or an equivalent) on hand. I used canned chicken broth instead of bouillon and water. And I had some bacon grease in the fridge, along with a ham bone in the freezer. I sauteed the potatoes, celery and onions in the bacon grease and simmered the ham bone in the soup. Other than that I pretty much followed the recipe (swiping out cheddar cheese for the American cheese) and we were eating potato soup in about an hour!! The number of servings were accurate. We fed 6 people, but two of the servings were on the small side. Next time I'll have to double the recipe so there are yummy leftovers, since soup is always better the next day. Thanks, Marge, for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States