Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Yummy soup, though I did make a few changes, which I feel only improved upon the recipe for my preferences. I used bacon, not ham. I cut the bacon into 1/4 inch strips then cooked till crispy. I let the bacon drain on paper towel till called for. I drained most of the grease then sauteed the onions and celery in it before proceeding with the recipe. I also used cheddar, not American cheese. Next time I will add a clove of minced garlic at the end of the saute, and increase the chicken bouillon (I will probably omit the salt with more bouillon). Came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This dish turned out perfect. My entire family enjoyed this and the servings were filling. The only thing I did was used Hillshire Farm turkey sausage opposed to ham because my family does not eat pork. I also sprinkled a little garlic salt over my meat while it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This recipe is DELICIOUS. The only thing that needs to be changed is bacon instead of ham. Cook it until it's crispy and crumble over the soup when you put the cheese in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Excellent! Hearty enough for my husband, but healthy enough for me! The only thing to make this soup is better is to place some of it in a food processer for a creamier consistency. I also used skim milk and a blend of 2% cheeses, but you would never know the difference! I found that this recipe makes about 4 servings, so double up if you're feeding a crowd (and with a recipe this cheap, easy, and good, you'll want to serve it to company)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
WOW, Great soup! I added broccoli and 2 slices cheddar jack cheese and it had a fantastic kick. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
YUMMY! I've really NEVER made soup before so I was skeptical about this recipe as I had ALL the ingredients in the pantry & fridge! It came together really easily ! I changed it some to go w/ what I had on hand. I used bacon for the meat & sauteed the celery & onion before I added it to the water/bouillon ! Very good recipe a keeper for SURE !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is the best only thing i changed was the ham. I used smoked sausage. But other then that it was sooooo dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
really good. I sauted the celery and onion in bacon grease and used the bacon instead of ham. I also used chedder stead of american cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBIEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
this was not only easy but the family ate it all in one sitting excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States