Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is was a very good recipe!! It used ingredients I had on hand, was easy and taste great. I didn't have onion, celery, or ham so I just didn't add them. Next time I make it I will add 1/2 tsp minced garlic, 2/3 strips cooked and crumbled bacaon and i would use a little less cheese! Great recipe and for sure a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very easy and good. I doubled everything except the vegetables and added sliced kielbasa instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Delicious as well as simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCGEORGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe!! My daughter requested potato soup this morning. I found this recipe for lunch and knew I had all the ingredients (or an equivalent) on hand. I used canned chicken broth instead of bouillon and water. And I had some bacon grease in the fridge, along with a ham bone in the freezer. I sauteed the potatoes, celery and onions in the bacon grease and simmered the ham bone in the soup. Other than that I pretty much followed the recipe (swiping out cheddar cheese for the American cheese) and we were eating potato soup in about an hour!! The number of servings were accurate. We fed 6 people, but two of the servings were on the small side. Next time I'll have to double the recipe so there are yummy leftovers, since soup is always better the next day. Thanks, Marge, for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Delicious! Only thing additional that I did was add shredded carrots and instead of American cheese I used Colby. It had such a great flavor of just the juices before adding the milk and flour that that alone would be a great soup! Love Love Love, and will be using this one again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
LOVED this recipe!! Had to double/triple the milk and flour to get the liquid ratio I wanted, but other than that (and it's just personal preference) the recipe is PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Love this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This soup is fantastic! It is also very forgiving if you substitute ingredients. I added more potatoes than the 3 cups, so I didn't need to use the flour to thicken. I also used turkey sausage (like you might use for spaghetti sauce or chili) and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
this was easy and very good! i used an extra cup of potatoes, extra chicken broth, and used half milk and half broth to mix with the flour. also, i used about 4 slices of american cheese instead of shredded, and i added some leftover broccoli. it was a big hit with the kids! they said i should make it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Yummy soup & easy to make. I doubled the recipe so we'd have leftovers. I didn't add celery, parsley, or ham (none on hand). I used cheddar cheese instead of American & omitted the salt (I think the cheese & bouillon had plenty). I used my immersion hand-blender to blend some of the cooked potato (I prefer that texture). Start to finish was about 45 minutes. Next time, I'll add some bacon to garnish the soup. There will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States