Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I added more flour (I like thick soup) and right before serving I added in hamburger meat that had been browned with onion, garlic and pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My family ATE THIS UP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This was really good! My boyfriend took all the leftovers to his friends at work to show off! Lol. I made a couple adjustment based on reviews : cheddar cheese, bacon instead of ham- an extra bullion cube.,I added broccoli just to get the extra nutrients . sautéed the onions and celery in the bacon drippings. I had to add a bit more water. Next time I think I'll add more onion and celery and take out the extra bullion for a more natural taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Very easy. I had no ham, so I threw in some bacon bits. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Sweat veggies first and used bacon instead of ham. Whole FAM enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I cooked my onions, celery and garlic in a tablespoon of butter till softened and smelling really good before adding the potatoes in, then used chicken broth to boil instead of plain water. I used three Russet potatoes and needed about two cups of broth to cover the potatoes completely. This wasn't any harder than adding it all together and boiling at once, but I'm sure gives it much deeper flavoring. I didn't have American processed cheese, but a mix of Colby/Cheddar worked out just fine. This was a great way to use up leftover ham from Thanksgiving, and really easy. We really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Love!! My mom used to make potato soup and it was ok but I was looking to make something out of the norm from my usual dishes so I tried this! I used almond milk instead of regular milk and cornstarch instead of flour(gluten free). I hate onions and celery (kind of picky I know!) so I ombitted those and used onion powder and garlic. I've made it twice more, once with mushrooms and once with broccoli and both were just as good. Note: I was having trouble with the soup staying together, could be the almond milk..so I just added a little more cheese and it came together better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This was very good! Made as described however I browned my ham cubes with the onion for added flavor before adding to the soup. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Made this fantastic potato soup exactly how it reads. I did use bacon instead of ham. It was perfect! Just the right consistency. You really don't need to change a thing! And my four young picky kids all ate it, yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by G3B
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I made this soup with a few modifications and it was a hit. I first fried pepper bacon and then sauteed the onion and celery in the bacon grease. I used Yukon Gold potatoes as they are more firm when cooked. I skipped the water and bouillon, used chicken stock instead. Lastly used heavy whipping cream instead of milk. Next time I will double up on the flour as I like my soups thicker, but corn starch did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States