Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Love!! My mom used to make potato soup and it was ok but I was looking to make something out of the norm from my usual dishes so I tried this! I used almond milk instead of regular milk and cornstarch instead of flour(gluten free). I hate onions and celery (kind of picky I know!) so I ombitted those and used onion powder and garlic. I've made it twice more, once with mushrooms and once with broccoli and both were just as good. Note: I was having trouble with the soup staying together, could be the almond milk..so I just added a little more cheese and it came together better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This was very good! Made as described however I browned my ham cubes with the onion for added flavor before adding to the soup. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Made this fantastic potato soup exactly how it reads. I did use bacon instead of ham. It was perfect! Just the right consistency. You really don't need to change a thing! And my four young picky kids all ate it, yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by G3B
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I made this soup with a few modifications and it was a hit. I first fried pepper bacon and then sauteed the onion and celery in the bacon grease. I used Yukon Gold potatoes as they are more firm when cooked. I skipped the water and bouillon, used chicken stock instead. Lastly used heavy whipping cream instead of milk. Next time I will double up on the flour as I like my soups thicker, but corn starch did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by kaleb
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Easy and quick with items you always have. Plus it's a hearty meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Loved it!!! Made it just as instructed and turned out simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This is yummy. I turned it into a creamy potato soup. I used 4 cups potatoes to make the soup thicker and added 1/2 cup chopped carrots. I sauteed the onions, celery, and carrots first, and added minced garlic to taste. Instead of the water and bouillon, I used one cup of low sodium chicken broth because we are a low-sodium household. For that same reason, I omitted bacon or ham. I pureed the veggies and broth, then added the milk and flour mixture. Used cheddar cheese for a better cheese taste and sprinkled chopped green onions on the top just before serving. All in all, my mother said "this is a keeper". I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adkhkr44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I didn't have any chopped ham, so I substituted Johnsonville smoked sausage instead. It gave it such a smoky delicious flavor! This soup was delicious!! The only other thing I did differently was omit the celery as no one in my house likes it. A keeper recipe for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Tripled the recipe, and omitted the celery. Used 8 oz velveeta for the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Wow!!!!! This was amazing!!!!!! Did not change anything except that I used havarti cheese since it was what I had, and it was soo flavorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geneve Berkenkamp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States