Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I doubled everything for our family of 7 and tripled the water/bouillon, used red and gold potatoes with skins on. Used Spinach-Feta sausage instead of ham. Added broccoli also, sautéed celery & onion. Cut back milk to 2 cups (doubled would be 3c) and added 1 can Cream of Celery, plus 1 can Cream of Chicken soup to the milk/flour mixture, mixed until smooth & added to stock. I took advice from other cooks and used a masher before adding milk to cut down size of potatoes - but leave them chunky enough for potato chunks, don't make mashed potatoes! It helped thicken it up - perfect consistency. Necessary to season this soup - used Onion powder, garlic powder, ground pepper and a lot of salt. Add sausage not long after milk & soup mixture and let simmer on low, so the meat spices & tastes permeate soup. Add cheese before serving. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Made this very good. I followed the recipe as is. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hoopamy
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Very very yummy!! My entire family ate this soup up with very little leftovers and that was making a double batch. If you have many to feed I would choose to increase the initial recipe by 3-4 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Easy, good-tasting, and not loaded with processed food. This recipe has it all! I gave it a quick stir with my immersion blender and garnished with some crumbled bacon. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Photo by Samaria
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Fabulous recipe! Followed it to the T and it turned out perfect. The only substitution I used was Velveta cheddar cheese instead of American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Would add bacon bits to top it. Otherwise thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Fantastic! Hearty and flavorful! Will DEFINITELY make again. I made a few minor changes... I didn't have ham, so I chopped up a 1lb package of keilbasa and doubled the recipe. I used red potatoes and left the skins on. Instead of adding raw flour--I cooked it with some butter to create a roux. Those were the only changes. LOVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Very easy recipe! I made a few modifications, substituting mushrooms for the celery because I had some on hand and chicken stock for the bouillon. My husband absolutely loved it! I am planning to make it again, substituting clams for the ham, and corn for the celery. A great way to use up Easter leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I omitted the onion, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was some of the best potato soup I've ever had. I want to try it again and add some cooked bacon instead of the ham just for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Used cornstarch instead of flour to make it GLUTEN FREE. Used bacon instead of ham & cheddar instead of American since thats what I had available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRG2006

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States