Golden Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
We did not care for this recipe at all. I make a similar recipe that is excellent. I season and brown the pork chops in a frypan. Drain grease, add 2 cans golden mushroom soup and simmer on low until pork chops are done. This way the soup stays nice and thick and you can put it over mashed potatoes. Try it like this...I think you will like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
599 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was pretty good. Everyone in my family really liked it. I hate it when people make a million changes in a review but.... I did saute the onion, (canned) mushrooms and about a tablespoon of minced(jar)garlic in a skillet until soft, removed it from the skillet and put in a bowl. I browned the pork chops in the same skillet, seasoning them with a good amount of season salt, garlic powder and pepper while in the skillet, transferred to the baking pan and topped with onion mixture and soup. Very flavorfull and tender, I will definitley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
580 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Red Bud, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
OMG!!! I made this last night, and my boyfriend LOVED it. I did do like the others and brown the pork chops in a TBSP of butter, 1/4 cup of onions and TBSP of garlic. I after letting them bake in the 350 degree oven, i turn the oven up to 400 for about 15 minutes. Then uncovered. They were the best pork chops I've ever cooked. Im making them again tonight.//Ok so I made it again less than 24 hours later. Even better. 2 thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
391 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki The Great

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This is a great starter recipe. I took some of his ideas and some of mine and kind of mingled them together. First I decided to brown my meat (6 chops) in the skillet w/ some garlic,pepper, and seasoning salt to my liking. Then I mixed 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup w/ milk and added 2 cans of mushrooms, the chops, covered, and baked. It turned out delicious! The meat was very tender and moist. I separated the meat and the "gravy" and poured the "gravy" over the meat and the mashed potatoes I served with the chops. As far as everyone giving this recipe a bad review, they need to stop and think about everyone's different tastes. As far as it being bland, everyone has a different threshold for spices. And as far as it being dry, a quick fix of covering it with aluminum foil to lock in the moisture might do the trick. It seemed to work for me. Anyways, once again a GREAT starter recipe, and I will definatly be making again. Thanks and God Bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
These looked terrible coming out of the oven. My husband made a face and said what is that??? But after he bit into one he was sold, even my 7 & 1 year old loved them. I was asked to make this agian and again. I did do as other reviewers suggested and heavily season the pork chops before browning them. I also used an 2 cans of cream of mushroom and one of celery. I think 2 cans would be plenty next time. I also added extra onions since my family is such a big fan of them, and omitted the extra mushrooms as I'm not a big fan. Thanks for the tasty recipe! I've also made this by chopping up the pork, seasoning & browning then slow cooking and serving over egg noodles or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
My husband loved these. I made some changes. I used one can of golden mushroom AND one can of cream of mushroom soup. I also sauteed the onions and sliced mushrooms as another reviewer had suggested. also, i used a metal meat tenderizer briefly on the chops AND used seasoned meat tenderizer.. the chops were very juicy and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Delicious! I made this recipe along the lines of some other reviewers, first sauteing the onions and mushrooms in vegetable oil. I then set those aside and browned the pork chops in the same oil, seasoning both sides with seasoning salt, pepper, garlic powder, ginger, and thyme. I mixed together the soup, leftover water from the canned mushrooms, onion, and mushrooms, and then added all the same spices to that mix for the sauce. Since the pork chops were already browned, I baked them for only 30 minutes, at which point they were thoroughly cooked but still juicy. The results were fantastic! It would've probably been bland, but the thyme and browning the meat really made the recipe. Will cook this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I love this recipe. It is a great place to start with p/chops. I have tweeked it to fit my schedule and opted to use canned srooms instead of fresh and put it in a slow cooker/roaster on low with two large whole potatoes on top, set it on low and dinner was ready when I got home from work, just add salad and french bread. I have also done it in the oven and it always turnd out great. Served with garlic mashed potatoes and green peas....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garnet B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bono, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Simple preparation even with browning the pork chops & sauteing the onions/mushrooms. Used baby portabella mushrooms. Added a little bit of cream (about 1 tablespoon) when finished cooking to make the sauce a bit creamier. The meat was very moist and tender. Covered the baking dish the entire time during baking. Served with mashed potatoes and green beans. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I will be making this recipe again! I used about 6 oz of mushrooms and sauteed them and the onion first. I also used cream of mushroom, added green beans, 2 Tablespoons of minced garlic and more seasoning for the meat. It was very tender and even my toddlers liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States