Golden Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Great easy recipe...I've been making these for years, and am cooking them again this month for 50 people. This is a good recipe for large groups because once the chops are tender, you can keep them warm and exact timing is not an issue. I don't add the extra mushrooms or onions due to personal taste...also, try adding about one cup of beef stock to the canned soup instead of milk.....delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!! This was extremely flavorful, and was great served with white rice. Will definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syaskiewicz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I love this and make it often. I make a little differently each time, but the main thing I add is a little onion soup powder mix. I also add a little milk to thin out the cream of mushroom soup mixture. Sometimes I use a flavored cream of mushrooms--roasted garlic. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoletn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great as is... But I used small onion & 1 - 4oz can of mushrooms... I suggest for 6 chops lg onion, & 2-3 cans mushrooms!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I forgot to mention in my earlier review that I used thin cut pork chops. They come out of the oven so tender and you can cut them with a fork. GREAT! I also wanted to say that you have to make them differently than what the instructions say for them to come out good. I sliced the onions into half moons and sauteed them in a pan with some vegetable oil until onions were caramelized. I took them out of the pan and mix them with 2 cans of soup and set aside. Season pork chops with salt, peper, and garlic powder and sautee them in the same pan for about 10-15 minutes. Set the browned pork chops in a 9x13 and pour soup/onion/mushroom mixture on top. Bake for 40 minutes. Wonderful, comort food meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Juicy, tender and soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I got out of this just what I expected from a dish that begins with canned soup and little else - an okay-tasting meal, rather on the boring side, not very attractive, yet something oddly "comfort-foodish" about it which I guess is what I was aiming for. I did have to play with it a little since the recipe called for no seasoning other than salt and pepper. I seasoned the chops with Montreal Chicken seasoning, and to the soup, I mean gravy, I added a good glug of Chardonnay, a couple shakes of Worcestershire sauce and some poultry seasoning. I served the chops over simple buttered pasta and "Skillet Cabbage," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is wonderful! My whole family loved it and this recipe made me love these soft caramelized onions. I did first saute the onions and fresh mushrooms then I removed them from the pan and browned the pork chops in the same pan. I baked everything for 40 minutes and they were so tender and flavorful. This is a little reminiscient of salisbury steak but with pork chops. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Tasted great! I couldn't find Golden mushroom soup so I used fat free cream of mushroom. It tasted good, but is lacking something...I will try it again and see what happens...maybe wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Quite liked it. Made it exactly as outlined though scaled down to fewer pork chops. One issue though: too salty for my taste due to (I'm guessing) the excessive salt in the condensed Golden Mushroom condensed soup. At my local supermarkets there is only one brand that does Golden Mushroom (no surprises which one) and that small can contains 27% sodium. There are standard cream of mushroom condensed soups with low sodium options and I'd be tempted to do it again using those. Lower the salt and this one would be a keeper, given how easy it is to prepare. Right now the salt is just too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States