Golden Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe last night and I made a few variations after having read a number of the reviews. Before browning the chicken season with garlic powder and onion salt. I like chicken so instead of two cups i had three cups of shredded chicken. I went from six lasagna noodles to nine. I added with the cream of chicken mixture fresh garlic and finely chopped spinach. The key to this turning out as well as it did and to avoid it being dry was as I layered the the chicken cheese and soup mixture is to also spoon in ample amounts of traditional spaghetti sauce. This turned out much better than I had expected and my children really enjoyed the labor of love. Outstanding! This will definitely be in heavy rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valanda Chapman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I had to do a little subbing just to use what I had on hand so that's why it's 4 stars and not 5. I used fresh chopped red/yellow/orange bell peppers in place of the mushrooms. I also had to use half ricotta and half cottage cheese since I didn't have enough ricotta. I added a bit of milk at the end to the top to mix with the soup mixture (more than what is in the recipe b/c I was using some leftover cream of chicken soup from another recipe and I wasn't sure exactly how much I had-since it was a family size can. This recipe is definitely a keeper and something I will continue to make over and over. My husband loved it and he doesn't like peppers. My two year old daughter was very fond of it as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I used a whole box of lasagna noodles and added a few cloves of fresh minced garlic when I sautéed the onions and mushrooms, along with some thyme and oregano in addition to the basil. I also substituted shredded mozzarella and parmesan cheese for the cheddar. It’s a very nice change from traditional lasagna. Oh, you can also use ground chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I made this for dinner using leftover roasted chicken. (I also used more broth as another reviewer stated - about a cup - along with 2 cups fresh mushrooms and a clove of garlic. This allowed the noodles to cook in the oven.) It was just OK. I agree with another reviewer that it was missing something, but had potential. I warmed up some for leftovers today and sprinkled a bit of rosemary on top. Much better! I think I'd make it again, but stir in seasoning with the chicken to give it a more well-rounded flavor (rosemary, thyme, etc.). Not a bad recipe to use for leftover chicken and ingredients that I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Good. Go easy on the noodles. Ricotta is hard to spread over the chicken. Don't skimp on the onion. It needs the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
The final product was very good. I cooked an entire box of lasagna noodles, though. 6 was way too few. I also used garlic powder and sprinkled a fine layer over the ricotta cheese on the final layer - my husband and I are garlic fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Beth Salois

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My family liked this, not our favorite recipe, but a good one for things I usually have on hand. Here is what I did different: I used oven ready lasagna and increased the broth to 1/2 cup. I used 2 boneless chicken breast halves and cut them up and sauted in olive oil with the onions, some salt & pepper, and garlic powder (will use real garlic when I have it next time). I didn't have mushrooms, but I would use fresh and sautee with the chicken next time. It was a little funny layering it because it is not like normal lasagna, but it turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I added a little more seasoning, like some chopped garlic instead of mushrooms, oragano, and red pepper flakes. I also had a little mozzerella cheese that I combined with the cheddar, and I used a little more parmasean then called for. It turned out great, and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coaldale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I did not care for this recipe - there wasn't enough sauce or flavor. My kids didn't eat it either. But my husband (weirdo) loved it. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Not great...I even added some garlic and spinach for some extra kick and it still tasted like something was missing. I wish I could figure it out, because I think it could be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States