Golden Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Wonderful! I made two different recipes for Easter. This one and another. Both were excellent. I used butter instead of shortening. Great texture and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
great, easy dough. Used it to make bread in the shape of a bunny with my granddaughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
delicious! i substituted fake butter for the shortening, and rice milk for milk, and fake egg mix for the eggs. I also halved the recipe, and somehow only got 6 rolls about the size of a small orange, and a mini baguette that would have made another 2 1/2 rolls maybe. I think I have to work on the rising stage, making sure the dough is moist instead of crusted over a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manahawkin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Good rolls. I cut the recipe in half and it made 9 large dinner rolls. I also used country crock instead of shortening and they came out really good. The dough is very wet- I used almost another cup of flour during the kneading stage. Next time I will add honey to the dough to play up the sweet flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very simple, don't worry about substituting butter for shortning, I did and it turned out great. I made these as part of our big Thanksgiving and now I'm required to bring these for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAWASEWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I did not like the flavor of the rolls, which is too bad because they were light and fluffy. I made these along with another yeast roll and these barely got touched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefspecialty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made these rolls for my family at Thanksgiving and they absolutly loved them. It was agreed that they should be made each real. Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebiJoe135

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mt. Vernon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These are amazing. Very chewy and soft and they definitely come out with a nice golden top. But what amazed me the most about these rolls is they keep really well. Usually rolls dry out after a couple of days even when kept in a sealed container. But 4 days later when I pulled these out of the bag they were still super tasty after a 25 second spin in the microwave. Definitely keepers! I just made these again and used bread flour because it was what I had and they turned out perfect again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
These were loved by my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
These were very good. I was a little suprised after adding the 6th cup of flour the dough was still very wet and I would not have dumped it out to knead it. I had to add about 1 1/2 more cups. Next time I will also add about 1 tsp more salt. Very good tasting though and I still give a 5 star. I also used the rapid rise yeast and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States