Golden Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lbeam
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Delicious! My husband is a health nut & hardly eats any white bread, period. However, when i made these rolls he gobbled up 3-4 at the dinner table & stated this will be his cheat day!! I halved the recipe and placed rounded dough about the size of golf balls touching one another in a pie plate. Baked for about 16 min on bottom rack with pizza stone. They didn't get too brown & the center rolls were a little under done (gooey) but we like em like that. I also added an extra 1/4 tsp salt, used real butter, used all milk, and 2 eggs instead of 1 1/2 like the "halved" recipe called for. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
The recipe is too sticky and gooey. I had a hard time shaping the balls as a result. The crust is always too hard, but the inner portion is soft and delicious. The buns become hard a day or two after- so they are for immediate consumption.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Really tasty! I accidentally added too much sugar, and even though they were a little too sweet they were still great. I cut the recipe down for 12 servings and then made huge rolls for black bean burgers. It was perfect, and they puffed up beautifully for buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These came out very tasty but they needed A LOT more flour than called for- probably at least 3-4 cups. I would also add more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach2815

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Everyone loved these buns! I did end up having to put in apx 1.5 more cups of Canadian flour than the recipe called for. I find Canadian flour has more gluten and bakes differently than the American bread flour. This is a huge recipe and it made 20 rolls plus 2 small loaves of bread. I really wished I made all into rolls because they were the best ever! Next time, I'm using the recipe for chelsea buns...can't wait! Excellent recipe but it might need extra flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Not a rating yet, but a question for WILDFLOWER. Where do you get honey butter? I've been looking for years for it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
These were very good. I would definitely make them again. The only thing I would change is that they were a little too sweet. So I'd take out a little of the sugar and add some extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
as a first time bread maker, I could't have been more pleased with these rolls! I brought them to my inlaws, and my mother-in-law loved them! (she's baked bread for the past 40 years!!) she knows good bread- and this bread is GOOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Good basic bread for beginners. Easy rise, second rise was also easy. Definitely needs more salt, by double. Also more sugar. The bread ends up fluffy but tasteless, even with butter. Next time I'll use rosemary or roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shinglehouse, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These rolls turned out beautiful and tasted great! I made them exactly as written (using butter flavored shortening), and I wish I would have taken a picture of them, they were so perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States