Golden Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
These were delicious and even survived the Thanksgiving day power outage that forced us to put the already raised rolls in the freezer for a couple of hours so we could bake them when the power was back on. A little less flavor than the breadmaker roll recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Mine didn't LOOK very pretty, but they sure tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made a half recipe of these rolls. I made this recipe in my Kitchen Aid mixer. I let the yeast bloom with the warm liquids and sugar in the mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the other ingredients. This dough needed an additional 1 cup flour to form into a solid ball. I then kneaded it with the dough hook for five minutes. After the second rise, I rolled the dough into heaping 1/4 cup balls and plopped them into my greased cast iron skillet, then covered them and set them to rise on my warm heating pad. After the second rise, I brushed them with melted butter. I got TEN rolls out of the halved recipe, not 12--but I did make them a little big. These rolls were perfect! They were light and fluffy and just wonderful. This absolutely was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made these rolls last night and was very pleased with how they turned out! They tasted very good right out of the oven and my two year old kept going back and stealing more off the counter every time we turn our head. I used better for bread flour, but next time I'll use regular unbleached. Six cups destroyed my brand new bag. I also brushed the tops of the dough with some melted butter right before I put them in the oven, just for a little buttery flavor and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Wow! I love any type of bread, especially yeast bread/rolls. I absolutely love this recipe. I've made some minor adjustments by adding honey. I've made the recipe 6 times in one month. I made the rolls for all of my holiday events, everyone loved them, including my family. When I make them I always leave just 4 at home, if I leave more we'll try to hurt ourselves eating them. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Oh my goodness.! I halved the recipe because it's just the two of us --- my husband ate most of them and declared they were the best rolls he'd ever eaten. They smelled so good baking and I just love this recipe! I'll be passing it on to my daughters, daughter-in-law and grand-daughters! Thanks you so much, Colleen, for a blast from the past; they reminded me so much of my grandmother's rolls...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Thank you for this awesome recipe! These turned out great. I measured out 7 cups of flour as someone suggested but put 1 cup to the side and stuck with the 6 for the mix. As I made the balls, I added a little bit as I went because the dough was too sticky. The outcome was fantastic! They were a HUGE hit today at Thanksgiving dinner! My family has already requested I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This are really good. Great directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klynn73

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
this was a super easy recipe and very yummy. I added hot peppers and cubed cheddar cheese to half the batch to make some yummy hot pepper cheese buns :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
SO GOOD!! Halved the recipe, used quick rise yeast but it took almost the full rise time, served w/ Shepherd's Pie. Did "clover" rolls - after first rise, pulled off small pieces of dough, rolled into balls a little smaller than ping pong balls, greased a muffin tin, put 3 balls in each cup. Let rise about 25 mins, then baked 14 mins at 375. PERFECT. So good, in fact, that I'm having one w/ honey butter right now instead of ice cream. THAT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States