Golden Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Too funny, I have been making this exact recipe for 40 years, my mother got it from a cousin 60 years ago. I make it several times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These were fantastic! Like most other reviewers I used 1/2 cup of butter instead of the shortening. I also left out the additional 1/4 cup of butter at the end because I figured 1/2 cup was plenty. The dough was very easy to work with, and they turned out so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
So yummy and soft and flaky on the inside! Reminds me of the inside of the Pillsbury Flaky Biscuits. I wanted something that really was a crescent roll and not just a roll in the same shape and these are as close as they get! We moved to Hungary and I can't find shortening here so I used butter instead and they turned out great. Threw everything in my bread machine. Seemed a little sticky and soft when I took it out but in ended up fine. Makes really big crescent rolls! I had to tint them with foil the last 3 or 4 mins. or else they would have burned on top. Will def. make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
These are SO good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jamierose78
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Yummy! This was my first attempt at crescent rolls. They turned out delicious. I used my bread machine to make them, and used half of the dough to make cinnamon rolls. The dough was so easy to roll out and cut. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I used this recipe for a top and bottom crust for a Hoagie Bake on allrecipes. I used a portion of wheat flour. It tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I think this is the first recipe I have rated all five stars. It is AMAZING! I piled all the ingredients into my bread machine to make the dough and it couldn't have been easier. The dough came out big, fluffy and silky smooth. I used it in place of Pillsbury crescent roll sheets, which my local store does not carry, in order to make pinwheel appetizers (pepperoni/provolone and mozzarella/fresh basil/sun dried tomato) for a party (this recipe makes enough to replace four cans of crescent dough). Boy, were they a hit! They were the first tidbits to completely disappear from the table. I got many compliments and several people told me it was the bread that really made them special. I totally agree, it is far better than the store bought stuff. I will be using this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
My kids LOVE these. They even request them. I even forgot to butter them, and noone noticed. I want to try mixing melted butter and honey then spreading on top just before they are done to see what that would taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I used this to make pizza pinwheels as I usually would make with Pilsbury cresents. (great make ahead and freeze lunch items) These taste very similar, but better!! I used 40% ww flour and substituted the butter for the shortening, and shortening for the butter as it was a ratio I was better with. Still turned out great! even better knowing I know what went into them vs. the pastry in a tube! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I read through several reviews and didn't see this point covered... It's a tasty recipe, but rolling them out to 12 inch circles left my cresent rolls thick - more "roll-like" than the typical cresent consistancy. Next time I'll make them, I think I'll split the dough into 4 balls and roll each of those out to 12 to make them flakier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States