Golden Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Yum! I mixed in the bread machine on dough cycle. Very easy dough to handle. I also followed recommendations and let rise for two hours before baking. Make sure to tuck the point way under -- some of mine came out and the rolls looked like birds! Still tasted great, of course :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These came out perfectly and the whole family enjoyed them. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. Next time I would use 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter. The recipe was extremely easy to make. I just rolled dough out into as much of a circle I could. This recipe is great in that if you don't roll out into a circle but a semi-circle (which is what I do) the rolls still work out perfectly since it is cut into long triangles. They were okay tasting but again since I only used shortening. I will update when I use the butter and shortening way. I thought the store bought crescent rolls were much better than these until I made some just 2 days ago and could not eat them. They were horrible. I think my palette is so used to homemade few now! Will definitely make again. I think these would be good with spices, cheeses, etc mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
these were fantastic and I agree with the other reviewer, a great place to start for first time yeast users. I'll make them again for sure! Wish I had this recipe years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laquey, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stoutland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is very similar to ur family recipe. Only diff is that we use butter instead of shortening and 1/2 cup each of milk and water (for proofing). We bake at a lower temp too cuz the rolls get a little Oklahoma brown if you bake too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I have tried many roll recipes on this site and others and this is without a doubt my favorite. My 5-year old rated it as such "5 fingers plus one thumb on the other hand so it gets 6 stars!" :) It was incredibly easy to make. I used my bread machine and set it to the dough cycle. I used a pizza cutter to cut the wedges and placed the rolls on parchment-lined cookie sheets. IMPORTANT NOTE: I have to believe this baking temp of 400 is incorrect. I took the advice of other reviewers and lowered my temp to 350. My rolls were perfectly golden brown in exactly 9 minutes. I brushed the tops with melted butter as suggested and these are absolutely heavenly. I'm not even sure if I'll ever bother with another roll recipe after this. They're so pretty and so tasty, unbelievable. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it is without a doubt a keeper. I've already printed it out and put it in my 3-ring binder...only the best recipes go in there! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
While home for the holidays, the family requested I make crescent rolls for Christmas dinner, which I had not made before. This recipe was incredibly easy and tasty. I made 30 rolls for 5 people; none of the rolls actually lasted to dinner. Fresh out of the oven, brushed with butter they were amazing. Technique notes: I made the dough the night before and let it rise overnight. I then proceeded and let the rolls rise for 2-3 hours (this can even be longer as I discovered with a batch of cinnamon rolls I made from this base recipe as well). My step mom's oven must run pretty hot; on 350 F, 10 minutes nearly burned them (caught them in the nick of time). Keep a close eye on your first batch and I agree with shooting low with the temperature. Makes a nice not too sweet cinnamon roll dough too; I'll add some lemon zest to it next time for dessert applications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Louis Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe, that I have been making for the last two years. As other bakers have suggested, I have decreased the baking time on this recipe. I baked my crescents at 350 for 12 minutes, and have found that they still are more brown on the bottom, than top, but at least they are not burnt (like the last two times I have attempted THIS recipe). I gave this five stars, first of all because even though I burnt them the last two times I have made them, everyone still ate them, (they just peeled off the bottoms) and still said they were delicious!! Thank you Mike A. for sharing these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These are great tasting and easy, my only problem is that I had to lower the oven temperature or the bottoms were burnt. Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States