Golden Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melsey62
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Lessons learned with this recipe- Do not use rapid rise yeast. Add 2 tablespoons of sugar. Yeast are sugar monsters according to a chef I took a cook class from at Sur La Table Yeast will take longer to rise for some reason on this recipe. My experience was over night. Tried both wheat and white flour same result...long wait. Overall my recipe came out great. See my pic. It's the heart shaped bread. It rose greatly while baking. Due to the sugar, had a nice "sweet" flavor almost like Hawaiian bread. I also ran out of regular flour and used cake flour so that was probably a big no-no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo.Davies
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
turned out pretty good! Still had a little bit of the yeasty flavor so I will add more butter next time, but overall these were a winner with my family. They puffed up quite large so I didn't see a need to add extra time on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
for those of you wanting a more croissant like roll...you have to add another 1 cup of butter sliced up and kind of chunky then work the layers...croissants have layers that are only acheived by folding the dough on it self many times while still having the butter kind of chunky. great though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raymiedc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
These should be called Crescent Shaped Dinner Rolls, not Golden Crescent Rolls. Mine raised fine (I always use a slightly warmed oven), but they were dinner rolls and not the flaky pastry-like store bought rolls the title would lead you to believe. Not bad if you know they are dinner rolls/bread in a pretty shape (that was nice and easy!). I am looking for something like the store version, but from scratch, to avoid all the unnatural ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Latina B.
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I have made these several times recently, and they always turn out beautifully. Tonight I used the dough to make cinnamon rolls!! I may need some help :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Light and delicious! Perfect for company dinners. But be sure and keep an eye on them during baking; requires less baking time than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
very good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Very Good! I have baked rolls for 50 years, and this is a keeper. To beth, Crescent rolls refer to the way they are rolled. You can make crescent rolls with any roll dough that is shaped before raising. Croissants are completely different, and not easy to make! To Camas Mom, did you proof your yeast first? No matter what the new yeasts say, I always proof it to be sure it works. This recipe does seem to take longer to raise, but they were worth it. I put mine in a really warm place after they were shaped. They are very light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I love this recipe !!! Was wondering can I prepare this like always let rise and just refridgerate the dough till ready to make later ?? I like making piggys in blanket with these too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
These are a homemade version of pillsbury's crescent. Super easy to make, I made a half recipe and I used the dough to do sausage roll. A great hit with my husband. I will reuse this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States