Golden Chicken and Autumn Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
So easy and tasty, hubby and I like this as a simple weeknight meal. I always pound the chicken breasts thinner, and season well with S&P, garlic and onion powders, and a little crushed rosemary and thyme before browning. I never have blandness probs as another reviewed stated and I think it's because I season well before cooking. I've been using this recipe for years, cut from off a Swanson broth can! I like anothers suggestion of adding diced onion and apple...will try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This turned out really well! I did make a few adjustments. I started with the 2 xlg yams (as advised, but I used 3 cups of green beans, and 2 1/2 c. of stock. When the veggies were ready, I took out the yams and a little more than half the stock/herbs and hand-blended them, adding a little butter and maple syrup. I figured this way, I could save the mashed yams and beans for tomorrow's side dish. Since I cook for two, I like to stretch out recipes as much as I could. The remaining stock in the pan with the green beans and chicken made a nice au jus. My husband gave it a nine out of ten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The chicken did not absorb as much of the herb flavors as I thought and was bland though it was juicy and tender. If I make this again I will slice some onion and maybe some apples to cook with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Excellent! Like Lissa suggested, I seasoned chicken first with s/p, garlic and onion powder. I used Trader Joe's frozen French green beans. The sweet potato chunks took longer than 15 mins to soften, so I added a second cup of chicken stock and let them cook awhile longer. Great leftovers today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kprete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
We really enjoyed this. Used regular potatoes since my husband won't touch sweet potatoes. I put s&p on the chicken before browning but that was my only adjustment. I liked this recipe as it is, but it's also a good base recipe to experiment with. I'll be using this often - a quick and tasty way to get a good dinner on the table during the week! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This recipe is easy, healthy and tasty. I knew just by looking at the recipe that it would be wise to season the chicken with salt and pepper before browning. I used EVOO instead of veg. oil and I used yams instead of sweet potatoes. I deglazed the pan with about 1/4 cup dry white wine before adding the broth. I just might make this again as a quick and healthy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I really screwed up making this dish (used bouillon cube in hot water for lack of chicken stock, no rosemary, forgot the onions till the end), and it still turned out pretty tasty! I took another's advice and seasoned the chicken first with s&p and garlic powder and browned it in sunflower oil instead of vegetable oil. Can't say I'd crave it, but I will certainly try it again (hopefully with ALL of the ingredients). A nice, light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Just like my aunt use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
So simple and very tasty. I felt great eating this. I didn`t even find it necessary to season the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Delicious! The only thing I did differently was to sprinkle a bit of seasoning salt on the chicken before browning. I was afraid it might be too bland without it. It was perfect! Next time, I think I'll try the footnote ideas by adding wine, lemon juice and mustard. Sounds wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States