Golden Carrot Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This bread is perfect. It's not too dense, rises reliably, a warm friendly color, and a rustic flavor. Perfect for the beginner bread maker. Freezes well- that is if it lasts that long. A great dinner roll. I've used this bread for Jen's Heavenly Egg Salad along with some swiss cheese it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Excellent! Fluffy and slightly sweet with a hint of carrot taste. I replaced 3 cups of flour with whole wheat, and it worked great. I split the dough in half and made 15 large rolls and then put raisins in the other half and put it in a round cake pan. I am definitey going to do that again, maybe adding some cinnamon and/or nutmeg next time. The round loaf was beautiful and took about 40 min to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very moist with a unique flavor, but more of a dinner roll. I had read the reviews that said it was sweet, so I made it as a breakfast bread- it wasn't the best flavor for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
these rolls are really perfect. they are delicious, and a bit more nutritious than regular rolls. I made a batch and froze them. They were best when eaten within the month. Just take out what you want to thaw, warm them up in the microwave or wrapped in foil in the oven if you want to. my kids loved them. they are a very pretty color too. Thanks for a great, unusual recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I loved this recipe. As of right now I am trying to not devour all of them. I did change it a bit and used mostly whole wheat flour (I was almost out of all-purpose). Also for a spread, I had some dill spread mix that I had bought from the store. I mixed the dill powder in with butter, and oh boy does that make a glorious spread! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I cut this in half and made the buns bigger than called for. I had about 18 total. These were tasty, but I really didn't taste the carrot flavor. I think this is a good way to get kids who are picky about there veggies to eat some veggies. i would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I just bought a huge bag of carrots and wondered what I was going to do with them. I am an avid breadmaker and love to add new bread recipes to my list of favorites. This one will definitely be on there. The rolls were light and fluffy and tasted great! I followed the recipe exactly and can't think of a reason to add to or change it. These were fantastic and a real hit with my young kiddos. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
These were very good. A little sweeter than regular buns but still good. I made them into a loaf a bread, pan rolls and in muffin tins. The buns in the muffin tin did not turn out as well, they were too crusty, for my taste. Maybe I should have taken them out earlier. The pan rolls were the best and the loaf was pretty good too. Beatiful pale yellow colour with flecks of ornage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious! My little ones love them as well! I used 3 cups of whole wheat flour & brown sugar for molasses. For a beginner breadmaker, it is quite simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great way to use up some carrots. My kids loved these & never suspected they were "healthy". I thought these were a little dry but just slathered w/ butter to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States