Golden Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Great Easy recipe! The tops were not that hard on mine and they were perfect in the center! I also so made them mini cupcakes and they still required 18 mins. baking time, which is not a big deal. I used only 1 tsp. of vanilla and the flavor was lovely. You could do 2 if you wanted. I did how ever add a splash more milk after mixing it all together, batter was a little thick, but still turned out great! You can make a cake or cupcakes or mini cupcakes. This will be my go to for yellow cake of any kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Extraordinary! I didn't expect it to be this good! a tad too sweet but very nice texture. I had to increase the milk more than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I just tried this recipe today and it is a good recipe. I do not do many homemade cup cake recipes at all but I will try this one again. I took the suggestion of the first reviewer with the eggs and used one whole egg and three egg yolks. This cap crumbles it doesn't come straight out the muffin paper cups but it is still a good recipe and I will use it again.* Everyone lets keep in mind that the era of this recipe is from the 1923's it is not of today so things will not be what we taste today but this is still good I would say they ate very good cupcakes or cakes back then.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmymore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These came out really dense, although I followed this recipe to a t. They were however very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mz Lada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magadan, Magadan Oblast, Russia
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Photo by midear
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made this cake with a marshmellow frosting and it was pretty good... I ate so much my belly hurts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
These turned out very pound-cake-y for us. They were way too rich with strawberry buttercream frosting and lemon cream cheese frosting on top. If I were to make them again, I guess I would try the boiled frosting that it recommends (I had the others leftover in my fridge and wanted to use them up). I can see how the recipe would be from 1923, it tastes like something my grandmother (who was born close to then) would have loved. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't what you usually think of as a cupcake, if that makes sense. Not at all light and fluffy, very dense and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
The first day I made these they were great. As someone else stated, by the second day the tops had hardened like sugar cookies. Not the worst thing that could happen, they still tasted really good, I probably just wouldn't make these to bring anywhere. As for my family, they loved them. My mom ate them plain for 3 days, the rest I frosted with a strawberry cream cheese frosting, topped with fresh strawberries. Still really good, just not the best yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I am giving 4 stars because I didn't make cupcakes. I used an 11x7 inch glass pan. It came out ok, but a little dry. With cupcakes you wouldn't have to cook as long. I frosted with a broiled coconut frosting and that was delicious. Good combo. This reminds me of a coffee cake. I will try the cupcakes next time. Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinKaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I used 2 tsp. of vanilla instead of using almond extract. I also used all room temperature ingredients. The recipe was easy as cupcake recipes go, and these didnt taste bad. The draw back is that the tops get hard and taste like sugar cookies and the center is chewy. Again, they didnt taste bad at all, its just the hard exterior and chewy interior. If you like that, then you will like this recipe. For my purposes, I am still on the hunt for the best vanilla cupcake that is moist throughout, with great vanilla flavor. This wasnt it. If anyone has one, please share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These cupcakes were somewhat dry and lacked taste. Followed recipe exactly, only baked for 16 min. I don't think they were over done. The milky way frosting did help, don't think I will make them again. To many other cake recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States