Golden Broccoli Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I really like shepherd's pie and this is really just a simplified version of it. I like added flavor and variety, so threw in some onions, garlic, and carrots (since I needed to use them up) and fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I also topped it with pureed cauliflower "mashed potatoes" instead of real mashed potatoes, since I had a head of cauliflower to use up, and mixed in some fresh green onions I happened to have. (Can you tell I was trying to clean out the fridge?) It turned out great. I'll keep this in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
It was ok. used many ingredients I had haning around my panrty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Easy to make and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbraden01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clintonville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Decent recipe for an easy quick dinner. I used what I had in the pantry....golden mushroom soup, tater tots, a combo of mild cheddar and mozzarella cheeses. I sauteed onions and garlic and added the meat. This is a good "base" recipe to tweak. Will make again. Could easily go low carb using the faux tater recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was good, but I added a packet of the dry Knorr vegetable dip to the mash potatoes so they weren't bland. It was very good! Also, I used ground turkey and browned it with an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was good and easy to make. I used 98% fat free soup, and also Betty Crocker 3 cheese potatoes (faster than making my own). I also forgot the egg, which I did not miss, but would still put in next time. I think it might be better next time with fresh broccoli instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I did change the recipe a bit to suit what I had in the pantry/fridge. I added garlic and mushrooms to the ground beef as it cooked and used tater tots on top instead of mashed potatoes. A yummy and easy twist. I used fresh broccoli, but will steam or add it to the hamburger mixture next time. I totally forgot to add the egg-- but it still turned out great. My non-broccoli eaters ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
We loved this! Only thing we did was add some seasoning while cooking the meat (our own special blend). I suggest doing this, but following everything else. Wonderfully easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
It was a great change of pace from our shepards pie recipe and super easy to cook.I did add one packet of Sazon seasoning(I've only seen Knorr or Goya brand)to the meat while it cooked and used fresh steamed broccoli instead of frozen. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
My family enjoyed this. I did add garlic and onion to the meat mix, otherwise it would have been bland. I will add more garlic next time since this really made the difference. I wanted it to be different than shephard's pie, so I boiled potatoes and sliced them to put on the top and buttered them. Next time I will use a little extra mushroom soup to coat the potatoes so they are not so dry. This was a great starter recipe. We will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States