Golden Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I capitalized a bit on BOBOBEARZOE's review - in addition to the shredded cheddar cheese, I added a package of shredded parmesan. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cur8tor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Mmmm! Delicious! I made according to directions, minus onions, and I will be making it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalubell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this for my family for Christmas and they all loved it. It was so easy with the Southern style hashbrowns. By: Dianne Johnson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Park City, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Wow!! What a great dish. I make this for all my family gatherings and there is never any left over. I follow the recipe exactly and it always comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
How can you go wrong with these ingredients. I made as written except I had to use real onions as I ran out of the dried ones. I diced them very small and they were fine. I also had no cornflakes so used some French's Fried onion topping. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I have been making this dish for past 5 yrs from a Taste of Home magazine. Everyone loves it, especially with ham! The sauce has a wonderful rich flavor...I'm a fan of sour cream. The potatoes are not floating in sauce, so make extra if you like yours on the creamy side. I cut down on the butter and occasionally skip on making the topping with equally good results. TIP - Make sure your potatoes are completely thawed and bake for the full hour or your potatoes will not cook thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
The best when using bobobearzoe's changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I've made this 3 or 4 times now and everytime I do I get asked for more and the recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I'm basing my rating on making the recipe exactly as-is with no changes. The potatoes never really got soft, it was greasy but dry (no suace!), and had an artifical taste. I'm glad I made it the day before my event so I can replace it with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
We loved this recipe! I used cheese it crackers instead of cornflakes (Thats all I had on hand) and i added french fried Onins to the cheese it topping as well. I think I will keep the changes I made next time. I can't imagine this dish without the cheesey cracker addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Nault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States