Golden Apple Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed this potato salad. I used sour cream instead as it was what I had on hand, I omitted the onion (I don't like raw onion) and added a hard boiled egg. Nice creamy dressing. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was a great recipe first time out of the box. I was looking for something that would be savory and close to what mom made. I don't like the sweet deli versions of potato salad so this was perfect; tangy, salty, smoky and hot. I didn"t have all the ingredients so I had to tweak it: I subbed Balsamic Vinegar for the white, and stone ground mustard for the regular spicy brown, and a red onion instead of white. No sour cream, so I increased the mayo. I also added diced celery hearts for more crunch. I think the salad would stand alone without the apples but the combo with the bacon is just spectacular!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
everytime i make this, people rave about how different and delicious it is--a nice change from the traditional potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
the recipe base itself was good. I added more mustard and pepper very little though. and more garlic. made it with bbq hamburgers and hot dogs it hit the spot. I would make again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Great for BBQs! Very tasty! I've made it without the bacon (for veggies) as well as with (I like it better with bacon but I'm a bacon lover!) If anyone can share tips on how to peel the potatoes easier,I would probably make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is okay - rather bland. For my taste, it would have more bacon and more mustard. The apples give a fresh edge to potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was so well received by the entire family! Sauce is so yummy. I skipped the onions to keep it pleasing for the younger ones. "medium" potatoes could be "large" especially if you use red russets. Definately a keeper! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I used far more vegetables to dressing than this recipe calls for, but the dressing itself was quite tasty and the apples were a nice touch. I also added fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Alphington, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States