Goldbrick Sundae Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
How easy is THIS?! As long as you have ice cream in the freezer you're set for a spontaneous dessert, since I'm sure most home kitchens generally have these few, simple ingredients on hand. I used half and half rather than evaporated milk and a teaspoon of vanilla. I did not add the nuts, preferring just a smooth sauce. I served this over brownies and vanilla ice cream. Delicious. A very worthy use of a bag of chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This would have been 5 stars if I didn't add the nuts. They overpowered the chocolate sauce. I did only 1/2 recipe and got about 4 servings, so unless you eat a lot of topping on ice-cream, it is actually double the servings suggested. I melted the chocolate chips in the microwave on high for about 1 minute stirring after 30 seconds and then stirred in the rest of the ingredients. The sauce without the nuts reminded me so much of "Magic Shell." I did try it on some ice-cream and it firmed up some slightly after about 3 minutes. But, I can't ever get magic shell to the crack stage, because I am too impatient to! I wish this would have said pecans (optional). I may try to make again, in the future without them, and report back. Defintely a very rich ice-cream topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
My husband said "definitely a 5!" The ingredients are so simple but the result is rich and chocolatey and addictive. I had never thought about mixing the nuts into the sauce--DUH--great idea! I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of evap milk and added 1 tsp vanilla. The sauce doesn't harden like a crackle topping--it firms up nicely and is delicious. This will be a repeat at our house. Thanks for sharing Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
If I could give this more than five stars, I would. This is DANGEROUS. Everyone loved this. I did take Becky's suggestion and added 1 tsp. of instant espresso powder and it was an excellent addition. Either way, this one's a keeper. NOTE: Toasting the nuts for this recipe would really take this over the edge. I could see that toasted slivered almonds would be a good addition, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
WOW! This is GREAT! The only thing I changed was adding about 1 tsp. of instant espresso powder as the chocolate was melting - it just deepens the chocolate flavor and does not add a coffee flavor. Also, next time I will toast the pecans before adding them to the chocolate mixture. MMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
We do love this sundae sauce! We had a banana split party and this was a huge hit... my husband wants to eat it out of the jar!! It does sort of harden a bit on your ice cream... it is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a great base recipe for a nice velvety chocolate sauce. I did add a couple of things: 1 tsp. instant espresso powder 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract Excellent flavor! Really easy! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
this is yummy! I made it once with milk chocolate, once with semi sweet and then a combo...all times it came out thick and creamy and decadent! I think i will try white chocolate or butterscotch chips next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
As someone who grew up eating the original and loving it's delicate milky sweet flavor this was a HUGE disappointment!! Too cloyingly sweet. It didn't harden like gold brick eith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Boyce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
A decent flavor, but did not live up to promise of hardening "as soon as it hits the cold ice cream." I'll keep looking for a Magic Shell stand-in that I can make at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States