Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amira
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
very nice cake. I made it yesterday. I was worried it wont be successful because I used sunflower oil instead of butter but it and it turned out perfectly. I mixed in some cardimum and 1\4 tspoon of yellow color and added some sliced pistashews on the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I made this in a 13 x 9 glass pan. I took other reviewer's advice and beat the butter, sugar, egg mixture for 5 full minutes. The cake top really browned but it was not dry. I frosted with canned milk chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Following review recommendations, this recipe turned out what might possibly be the prettiest, most light and airy bundt cake I've ever made. Not sure which changes produced such a success, but I used 100% cake flour, vanilla bean paste/vanilla butter emulsion/pure lemon extract, slightly more than 1 cup of yolks (angel food leftovers), and half and half vs milk (all I had). Following recommendations, I also allowed the butter/sugar/egg combo to beat around 10 minutes (got used to the noise and lost track of time - may have been slightly longer). Cake tested done at 45 mins and slid out beautifully from a bundt pan prepared only with Pam for baking. I would be proud to serve this cake at any gathering - it's almost too perfect for scratch, so my main concern would be people thinking it's from a box - absolute winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Tried this recipe today and it is a keeper! As others have noted, it requires a bit of time to beat the butter and sugar and then the eggs. Turned out light, moist and has such a beautiful color. I flavored mine with orange and it is yummy! I too had leftover batter and made some cupcakes. The grandkids will enjoy them. Have already shared this recipe with another baker. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
followed the recipe exactly. cake from the oven was perfect, light and airy . then proceeded to collapse on itself.I was very disappointed considering i had used 12 egg yolks.possibly your recipe was incomplete. Ps. these were yolks remaining from angel food cake.Ciao.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I had 11 egg yolks leftover from making macaron shells and Swiss meringue buttercream, and decided to try this recipe for a birthday cake for our helper. My 11 egg yolks only came up to slightly pass 1/2 cup but I decided to go ahead anyway after reading some of the reviews. I beat the butter with sugar until pale and fluffy, and used a mixture of all-purpose and cake flour becos I was out of AP flour. The cake turned out soft and fluffy, and carried the chocolate ganache I poured over it proudly. Great way to use up egg yolks from my frequent macaron baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I too used my left over egg yolks to make this cake after making angel food cake. The first time I made this cake I used regular all purpose flour, it reminded me of a pound cake. The second time I used cake flour instead. With the cake flour it was not as dense and I enjoyed it more. It is great with chocolate frosting or whipped cream and is simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
As an expert french macaron maker, I needed to use the egg yolks! This was the yummiest cake I have ever made. Light in sweetness but full flavour, not too heavy in terms of denseness and beautiful colour. Iced it with lemon butter cream. Superb. Gave half the cake to a friend and they also said it was the best they'd ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I baked this in loaf pans because, reading some reviews, I expected a dense cake. This cake if light, airy, and would be perfect for frosting. Taking other reviews into account, I let the batter beat 5 minutes. I sliced it into two layers, spread lemon curd between the layers and topped it with a lemon juice and powdered sugar glaze. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Onceuponabite
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I used cake flour and beat the heck out of the egg and butter (per previous reviews suggested). The resulting cake was light delicate and so so moist. I also added Myer lemon zest and brushed the finished hot cake with a lemon sugar syrup to let it soak in and be even more lemony. I can foresee this as a great base to be all kinds of different flavored cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States