Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
WHEN I FIRST MADE IT EVERYBODY WAS SAYING HOW DELICIOUS IT WAS, WHICH MADE ME EVEN HAPPIER TO FIND THIS GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This cake had a beautiful gold color as the name suggests. This is PERFECT for those the extra egg yolks. I will make this cake hand-in-hand with angel food-about 16 egg whites are too much to use for anything else. I frosted this with a fudgy frosting/glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
This is a great cake that is rich with a buttery flavor and a fabulous dense texture. Everytime I make this cake people beg for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This cake really was great! I was looking for something to use up yolks from an angel food cake. Now we'll be having angel food cake and this wonderful cake often. What a great cake and it didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
This is a great basic cake. I frosted it with a white marshmallow frosting. It wasn't until I had finished frosting it that I realized I'd made an inside out Twinkie! A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This recipe is excellent and produces a rich but light cake. I used 10 yolks left over from making angel food and supplemented with one whole egg to make one cup. Unlike other reviewers, I didn't find the cake particularly heavy or dense. I was careful to beat the batter until "fluffy", as called for in the recipe. This requires beating at high speed for at least 5 minutes after all ingredients are well-incorporated. The color of the batter lightens as you continue to beat it. The volume of batter was too much for my two 8" X 1.5" round cake pans, so I made several cupcakes with the surplus. Though the cupcakes were ready after 20-25 minutes in the oven, the cakes themselves required an extra 10-15 minutes to bake. The un-iced cupcakes disappeared in minutes, but the layers are going in the freezer until fresh strawberries, nectarines and peaches are in season. IMHO, a cake this rich would be best served with either fruit and whipped cream or iced with a light (non-buttercream) icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Fabulous! Moist...rich...a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Turned out perfectly. If it's too dense for some people it could be because there are too many yolks in 1 cup. I used 5 yolks only, as that's what I had left over from making a pavlova (Australian meringue cake with whipped cream and fruit decoration - I used mango and raspberries). I added a teaspoon of almond essence and about half a cup of toasted flaked almonds, then I decorated the top surface, BEFORE baking, with more toasted flaked almonds and sugar, to make a crusty topping. Consequently, I didn't have to make a frosting of any kind and the cake looks awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Perfect texture and basic flavor. Bake together with Favorite Strawberry or Angel Cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Cake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States