Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2000
This cake was not what I was looking for the cake did not have enough flavor it was kinda blan! I do not recommend this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
This is a great cake that is rich with a buttery flavor and a fabulous dense texture. Everytime I make this cake people beg for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
Thank you I needed to use up yolks leftover from the angel food cake and this is what I was looking for...Top it with chocolate and its wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
The addition of one cup of yolks makes this a very tasty, yet light, all-around good yellow cake. It is very moist and barely needs any frosting (but why miss the opportunity?!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
This is a great basic cake. I frosted it with a white marshmallow frosting. It wasn't until I had finished frosting it that I realized I'd made an inside out Twinkie! A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
WHEN I FIRST MADE IT EVERYBODY WAS SAYING HOW DELICIOUS IT WAS, WHICH MADE ME EVEN HAPPIER TO FIND THIS GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This cake is ok...but it takes a TON of egg yolks!! I might suggest buying some of those pre-separated egg yolks in the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Fabulous! Moist...rich...a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This cake really was great! I was looking for something to use up yolks from an angel food cake. Now we'll be having angel food cake and this wonderful cake often. What a great cake and it didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
The first time I made this cake it was a bit eggy. So I used half yolks and half whole eggs. The cake was very moist and rich. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States