Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made this for a birthday and it was a big hit.It was a bit of work to make but great for using up left over egg yokes from making angel food cake.If made properly its a great cake.It is dense but tasty.The key is not to over mix =0) I did use a splash more vanilla than it called for.I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This recipe is excellent and produces a rich but light cake. I used 10 yolks left over from making angel food and supplemented with one whole egg to make one cup. Unlike other reviewers, I didn't find the cake particularly heavy or dense. I was careful to beat the batter until "fluffy", as called for in the recipe. This requires beating at high speed for at least 5 minutes after all ingredients are well-incorporated. The color of the batter lightens as you continue to beat it. The volume of batter was too much for my two 8" X 1.5" round cake pans, so I made several cupcakes with the surplus. Though the cupcakes were ready after 20-25 minutes in the oven, the cakes themselves required an extra 10-15 minutes to bake. The un-iced cupcakes disappeared in minutes, but the layers are going in the freezer until fresh strawberries, nectarines and peaches are in season. IMHO, a cake this rich would be best served with either fruit and whipped cream or iced with a light (non-buttercream) icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This was a great cake! i loved it because it was simple and easy, espcially because im a novice baker. It took me about 13 egg whites so i suggest buying the costco pack of eggs. It was still moist even though i left it in longer than i should have. I used vanilla frosting and it wasn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Don't make this cake if you want a light, yellow cake best topped with chocolate frosting! The cake was very good, but very dense; almost like a shortcake. It is very good served with strawberries, but I was disappointed with the outcome after reading the reviews thinking of a chocolate frosted cake. If anyone knows of such a recipe, I would love to have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This cake had a beautiful gold color as the name suggests. This is PERFECT for those the extra egg yolks. I will make this cake hand-in-hand with angel food-about 16 egg whites are too much to use for anything else. I frosted this with a fudgy frosting/glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
The first time I made this cake it was a bit eggy. So I used half yolks and half whole eggs. The cake was very moist and rich. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This cake really was great! I was looking for something to use up yolks from an angel food cake. Now we'll be having angel food cake and this wonderful cake often. What a great cake and it didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Fabulous! Moist...rich...a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This cake is ok...but it takes a TON of egg yolks!! I might suggest buying some of those pre-separated egg yolks in the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
WHEN I FIRST MADE IT EVERYBODY WAS SAYING HOW DELICIOUS IT WAS, WHICH MADE ME EVEN HAPPIER TO FIND THIS GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States