Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I made this according to the directions, but it seemed so dry... I added a small can of coconut milk and a diced tomatoe at the end of the cook time, and then simmered an additional 8 minutes or so. The result was delicious! I think the tomatoe and coconut milk should really be included in the recipe. Also, I used curry and a small amount of cumin instead of tumeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
The lady in last review was correct, by adding the coconut milk and tomatoes it gave the dish more taste and prevented it from being dry. This is a must do recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
The combination of spices in this recipe is heavenly! The only thing that I did differently was add some plain yogurt and let it simmer to keep it from becoming dry. A sure favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
I think that the spices are right but something seems to be missing. I had a lot of trouble sauteing two potatoes and a cauliflower in onne tbsp oil!! If I didn't add a bit of tomato, it would have stuck to the pot. Also, the cooking time was dramatically longer than the recipe indicates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Wonderful! Just like the aloo gobi at my favorite restaraunt. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I liked this recipe a lot. It is dry, but I think it is supposed to be that way, because youre supposed to eat it with a dahl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
The recipe is really good but it's missing some things. First off, it was really dry and it should really have some curry to it. I realized that the colour wasn't catching on to all of the cauliflower... just the tops and bottoms. I used half of a big cauliflower which might have been more than a pound. I added tomatoes (which you really should put in) and one cup of water. The water made it lose a bit of flavour and it was still dry. So after reading the other reviews, I added 1/2 can coconut milk and that made a good curry base. Also, I didn't have cilantro, so I used parsley instead, which worked well. In total, I put in twice the amount of spices that the recipe asked for, for the half a cauliflower I used. This makes the curry rich and flavourful. You need to simmer the dish on low for about 20 minutes longer as well. In the end ...it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Very Yummy. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Very good way to have cauliflower
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Very good once I doubled every spice. I also added the tomato and coconut milk to taste. I like my Indian dishes to have a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States