Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I went ahead and added the "bit of stewed tomatoes" and substituted dried ingredients for fresh. Yum!!! Quite spicy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dish is FANTASTIC. I make it every time we make Indian, and even family members who won't touch cauliflower love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very good, and very easy. As many other reviewers suggest, adding water to the pan will help the veggies cook thoroughly and keep from burning; I decided to add more oil a little bit at a time though, because I didn't want the cauliflower to get that mushy texture and watered-down taste that comes with steaming. Also, I used fresh grated ginger, because that was what I already had in the house, and it tasted incredibly fresh and vibrant. This dish heated up great for leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
As written, the recipe could use some more details/rewriting (some suggestions: total weight of potatoes since "medium" is kind of arbitrary; an approximate size to cut the potatoes and cauliflower, which is a huge factor in how long it takes to cook; I also agree with adding the salt near the end), but as another reviewer said, it's a good base for tweaking to your own tastes. I made it with all of the ingredients listed in the amounts listed except the cilantro because I didn't have it. I cut the potatoes into roughly 1/2" x 1" cubes and the cauliflower into rough pieces about 1 1/2" square, and put them both into the pan when it says to add the potatoes. Adding 3-4 tbsp water every few minutes kept it from burning. All in all, it took about 20 minutes to cook the vegetables (mine were starting to fall apart, which was what I wanted so the small bits would make a kind of paste to stick to the vegetables). I added a diced Roma tomato about 15 minutes in and it broke down nicely. Next time I am going to add some pureed onion with the cumin seed/garlic/ginger for a bit more flavor. It seemed rather bland when it was just finished cooking, but letting it sit to cool a bit made it taste much better. I will definitely make it again. Another tip that others may find useful: prep and measure out everything before you start cooking - finding and measuring spices is much easier when you don't have a hot pan on the stove :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Aloo Gobi is supposed to be dry! DO NOT eat it with rice. It is eaten with bread (roti or naan) so the consistency shouldn't be thin. I agree with other reviewers that adding coconut milk or extra liquids to make it less dry will make this an entirely different dish. I was surprised this recipe didn't call for onions. Definitely saute some onions with the garlic, cumin seeds and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good. I will make again. It is supposed to be dry. Aloo Gobi does not have a sauce. Last reviewer had a great suggestion to keep a small amount of water at the bottom of the pan to steam the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Tyler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Goldman
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
It was good but not spectacular. The cauliflower did actually take 30 minutes to make it tender, so adjust your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I've added some water to the dish as I found that it was too dry while cooking.May try it again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Usually I do not have much luck replicating the flavors I get in Indian restaurant dishes. This was the exception! It tasted authentic. The only problem I had with it is that the time in the recipe is not long enough to get the potatoes and cauliflower to cook thoroughly. I had to add time to it and as other reviewers mentioned additional water was necessary so the food would not bun. Next time I would cook or par cook the potatoes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Quite good, except that it's nearly impossible to cook this without the addition of water, it becomes far too dry! I had to add lots of water throughout the cooking process in order to get the potatoes and cauliflower to a soft consistency. The final product was dry (not curry-like), and tasted quite good. I'm going to have to get better garam masala, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States