Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Aloo Gobi is supposed to be dry! DO NOT eat it with rice. It is eaten with bread (roti or naan) so the consistency shouldn't be thin. I agree with other reviewers that adding coconut milk or extra liquids to make it less dry will make this an entirely different dish. I was surprised this recipe didn't call for onions. Definitely saute some onions with the garlic, cumin seeds and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good. I will make again. It is supposed to be dry. Aloo Gobi does not have a sauce. Last reviewer had a great suggestion to keep a small amount of water at the bottom of the pan to steam the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Goldman
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
It was good but not spectacular. The cauliflower did actually take 30 minutes to make it tender, so adjust your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I've added some water to the dish as I found that it was too dry while cooking.May try it again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Usually I do not have much luck replicating the flavors I get in Indian restaurant dishes. This was the exception! It tasted authentic. The only problem I had with it is that the time in the recipe is not long enough to get the potatoes and cauliflower to cook thoroughly. I had to add time to it and as other reviewers mentioned additional water was necessary so the food would not bun. Next time I would cook or par cook the potatoes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Quite good, except that it's nearly impossible to cook this without the addition of water, it becomes far too dry! I had to add lots of water throughout the cooking process in order to get the potatoes and cauliflower to a soft consistency. The final product was dry (not curry-like), and tasted quite good. I'm going to have to get better garam masala, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Nice flavour, not too hot made with these measurements. It really is better with tomatoes added to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Holy Cow this was good! I went a bit heavier than suggested on the oil and spices and threw in about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. Make sure you cook long enough for the cauliflower to be just a hair crisper than than the potatoes. Fantastic I say. I was pressed for time, so I served with purchased pitas intstead of making a naan--brushed with olive oil and heated in the oven. Served alongside some sliced, August-fresh, local tomatoes and this dish really rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenwellcm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
After the cooking time stated in the recipe the potatoes and cauliflower were still too hard and the pan was very dry. I added a little water and put it back on the heat until they were tender. The flavor was very good and I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States