Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This recipe is authentic. It is meant to be dry. You can really add flavor by allowing it to caramelize a bit. My 1 year old LOVES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Agree that this was delicious, but also that you need to almost double the spice. I added red chiles too and chopped up a few of the whole canned tomatoes in my cupboard. It's delicious. I'll make this again but with more chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Bogaart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
We enjoyed this. I tweeked it just a bit by adding an onion to the spices and oil and cooking until translucent and adding about 2 cups of cubed eggplant with the potatoes and cauliflower. The cooking time was closer to 30 minutes to get the vegetables tender crisp. I added about 1/2 cup of water to keep them from burning. The result was the right consistency, not too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I am only giving this 3 stars as it didn't really work for me. I am sure it is quite authentic, it just didn't suite my palette. I made as instructed (except followed one reviewers advice by adding a bit of water to help steam as I could tell it was going to be very dry.) It's very flavorful and good, but not really main course material. I guess that was my mistake. Still having a lot of fun trying all the various Indian dishes, thank you for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I attempted to make this tonight, with the things I had on hand. I had most things, but no ginger paste or cilantro. It was still delicious! Now a staple for this college aged vegan. A side note-this dish really isn't supposed to have a gravy/sauce when made traditionally, so just add small amounts of water as needed for steaming, and you'll still be very happy with the result :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
this type of Indian dish is supposed to be dry. The solution is to make this as written, except for the cooking time, which is much to short, and eat it with chutney or raita, an Indian yoghurt dish. In most Indian dishes the salt is added at the end of the cooking period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
delicious! I added a can of crushed tomatoes at the end (my fiance felt it was too dry-- though I like it both ways), and also added two dried chiles for a little extra kick. We also added some frozen peas, which isn't true to the dish, but was super tasty. I'll be making this again--- I love how healthy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I went ahead and added the "bit of stewed tomatoes" and substituted dried ingredients for fresh. Yum!!! Quite spicy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dish is FANTASTIC. I make it every time we make Indian, and even family members who won't touch cauliflower love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very good, and very easy. As many other reviewers suggest, adding water to the pan will help the veggies cook thoroughly and keep from burning; I decided to add more oil a little bit at a time though, because I didn't want the cauliflower to get that mushy texture and watered-down taste that comes with steaming. Also, I used fresh grated ginger, because that was what I already had in the house, and it tasted incredibly fresh and vibrant. This dish heated up great for leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States