Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
The spices are not strong enough for my taste. Thank you for sharing it though. I'll add more spices next time! Perhaps extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe closely and the dish turned out a bit bland. I added in more of the spices and even a bit of tabasco. Maybe it's just a matter of preference. Also the proportions are a bit off (cauliflower vs potato.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Love the spices in this recipe. Did add some diced tomatoes for moisture. Served with Basmati rice. Next time i'm going to try substituting chick peas for potato so as to add a little protein. Delicious recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I followed this recipe as directed but also added a diced tomato (would rather have used two but I only had one) and some frozen peas near the end. I added a half cup or so of water every few minutes throughout the cooking process to keep the vegetables from burning and to help the spices seem less powdery. The recipe made a TON of food- I fed my family one night, had a big lunch of leftovers and I still have a sandwich sized tupperware left. Unless your servings are huge you will make more than the 4 mentioned. This was only my second indian (indian style...) recipe and I found it very easy. It was a big hit and my dad said he could smell it cooking all the way out in the driveway. It was a very inviting smell. Will definitely make again, with more tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyScherbatsky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
6-12-11: Tasted OK but was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Was yummy. I just didn't like how dry it was. I ended up adding a can of tomatoes last minute to add a little moisture. But I liked how well the spices worked together. I doubled them like another reviewer suggested and am glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I did like this recipe. But I agree with others it is a bit dry looking. But I didn't find that a bad thing neccesarily. It did seem a bit overspiced and a little bitter, so I added a large can of stewed plum tomatoes. I also added some chick peas to it at the end and served it with grilled haddock and quinoa. It was great. The next few times I made it, I waited until all the other spices were incorporated as directed, EXCEPT the ground cumin. I discover it's the amount of this that determines if the dish became bitter or not. Too much kills it. I also topped it with the cilantro, and a few fresh grean peas. Was restaurant worthy! Everyone loved it, and my son asked me to make it when he came home to visit . That's an ultimate compliment from my uber green organic eating son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I must have made several mistakes with this recipe. In hind site, my main mistake was not doing a trial run. My potato cubes must have been far too large, as they were rock hard after the given cooking time. After another half hour had past, I dashed to the computer in a panic to read your reviews. A few of you had also had this problem, so I followed your advice and starting adding a good splash of water with each periodic stir. In all, I would have added an extra cup of water over an additional half hour. But it still tasted so bland. Not knowing what else to do, I added a good shake of curry powder and then half a cup of cream. My family ate it, but didn’t comment one way or the other, which was a disappointment after all the time I had invested. Ah well . . . we all have recipes that beat us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I found this recipe a little bland, despite seasoning with a few generous sprinklings of salt at the end. I added water as needed to help the cooking process but ensured the final product was still quite dry. I didn't have any cilantro on hand but I think a good handful would have added a nice kick to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This recipe is authentic. It is meant to be dry. You can really add flavor by allowing it to caramelize a bit. My 1 year old LOVES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States