Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Took everyone's advice and kept water in the bottom, which worked well, although it did take much longer than stated. I nearly doubled all spices, as well as garlic and ginger. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eayers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
My family and I thought this was delicious. I added about 1/3 cup half and half like another reviewer, and also 1 can of diced tomatoes and the remainder of a bag of peas. Tasted great. The only change I would make would be to add the garam masala just about 5 minutes before it's done cooking, otherwise it makes the dish taste a little bitter. A little lemon juice can cure the bitterness, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I've been looking for a cauliflower recipe that my family likes. It has become a part of our regular meal -- even if I'm not serving cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was very good. I made it exactly as stated. I myself could use more spice, but for Grumpy's sake I am glad I didn't. He actually cleaned his portion right up! I would make this again and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I was disappointed in the way this turned out and my hubby took one bite and said "I don't like it..." which is not the usual reaction I get from him. I did use a little water as suggested by one reviewer but the flavor was bland and boring. 50% more spice would have helped. I may try to redeem the leftovers by making a tomato curry and adding it when reheating...but not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was excellent authentic Gobi Aloo. I added diced tomatoes and peas to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
There is a debate here about whether or not this needs a gravy. the first time I had allo gobi, some friends from the Punjab region of Pakistan made it - and it had a thick rich gravy, so I have adjusted this accordingly. I add 2/3 c cream and some water to coat the veggies - it helps distribute the spices to all surface area. then I cook it down until it is a thick, but not plentiful, gravy. I have also been known to add 2 handfuls of green peas just before serving (my kids like it better this way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I made a few minor changes to this recipe, none worth mentioning other than that I finely diced a harabanaro pepper (without the placenta and seeds) and sauted it along with the ginger and garlic, which I doubled. Wonderful dish, will definately make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was a very good recipe, probably better than I've had in a lot of Indian restaurants! I agree that it is too dry as shown, and I added about 1/2 cup of water and let the ingredients steam cook. I also had to let it cook about 10 minutes longer then the recipe said. But it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States