Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
My family and I thought this was delicious. I added about 1/3 cup half and half like another reviewer, and also 1 can of diced tomatoes and the remainder of a bag of peas. Tasted great. The only change I would make would be to add the garam masala just about 5 minutes before it's done cooking, otherwise it makes the dish taste a little bitter. A little lemon juice can cure the bitterness, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I've been looking for a cauliflower recipe that my family likes. It has become a part of our regular meal -- even if I'm not serving cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was very good. I made it exactly as stated. I myself could use more spice, but for Grumpy's sake I am glad I didn't. He actually cleaned his portion right up! I would make this again and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I was disappointed in the way this turned out and my hubby took one bite and said "I don't like it..." which is not the usual reaction I get from him. I did use a little water as suggested by one reviewer but the flavor was bland and boring. 50% more spice would have helped. I may try to redeem the leftovers by making a tomato curry and adding it when reheating...but not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was excellent authentic Gobi Aloo. I added diced tomatoes and peas to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
There is a debate here about whether or not this needs a gravy. the first time I had allo gobi, some friends from the Punjab region of Pakistan made it - and it had a thick rich gravy, so I have adjusted this accordingly. I add 2/3 c cream and some water to coat the veggies - it helps distribute the spices to all surface area. then I cook it down until it is a thick, but not plentiful, gravy. I have also been known to add 2 handfuls of green peas just before serving (my kids like it better this way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I made a few minor changes to this recipe, none worth mentioning other than that I finely diced a harabanaro pepper (without the placenta and seeds) and sauted it along with the ginger and garlic, which I doubled. Wonderful dish, will definately make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was a very good recipe, probably better than I've had in a lot of Indian restaurants! I agree that it is too dry as shown, and I added about 1/2 cup of water and let the ingredients steam cook. I also had to let it cook about 10 minutes longer then the recipe said. But it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
mine came out very dry. i kept having to add more water which diluted the flavor quite a bit. my boyfriend still loved it but i was not so crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States