Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
A tasty and flavorful restaurant-quality dish. Don't listen to some of the other reviewers: some did things to make a sauce/gravy; this dish isn't supposed to have a gravy. (Look at the picture I submitted.) But the concerns about drying out the potatoes and cauliflower are justified. To solve this, during the times when one is supposed to cook with the pan covered, make sure there is a little water at the bottom of the pan. Every few minutes uncover and add a little water. This makes sure everything stays damp and steams as it cooks. I found it necessary to steam for an extra 5-10 minutes to cook the potatoes sufficiently. Also, I used 50% more spices than listed. Salt I added to taste *at the end*, not where recommended in the recipe. (How would one decide if something tastes right before the vegetables are done cooking?) Finally, I forgot about the cilantro and didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I made this according to the directions, but it seemed so dry... I added a small can of coconut milk and a diced tomatoe at the end of the cook time, and then simmered an additional 8 minutes or so. The result was delicious! I think the tomatoe and coconut milk should really be included in the recipe. Also, I used curry and a small amount of cumin instead of tumeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I've made this a couple times and it turns out pretty good. I like this recipe because it's not as involved as recipes for aloo gobi in my Indian cookbooks. What is with the coconut milk though? If you want traditional aloo gobi, stop taking one reviewer's suggestion and don't add coconut milk. It's not part of this dish, and if you add it, you're making something completely different, and most likely, something sweet. Mustard seeds are always a great addition and the more cilantro the better, but if you find that it's too dry, add a 1/2 cup of crushed tomatoes and it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This dish is excellent with a few changes. Note that this recipe has no liquids which will becomes too dry. I followed the recipe up to the adding of the potatoes and seasoning but instead of cooking 5-7 minutes, I put it in my crock-pot with 1/2 cup vegetable broth and a can of stewed tomatoes (because I didn't have diced tomatoes). Cooked on high for 2 1/2 hours (after the first 30 minutes I added the Cauliflower stirring to saturate with the spices. I added a little more milk (maybe 1/4 cup or less) after 2 hrs and stirred. The cooking time will depend on how big you cut the potatoes, I cubed them about 1-2" wide. I chose the crock-pot method because I was going to be busy preparing the Chicken Tikka Masala to serve with it. This turned out delicious!!! my picky teenager loved both dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This is a very basic version of the traditional Aloo Gobi recipe. I did not find it any drier than other versions of this dish. It is supposed to be very dry; not all Indian recipies are intended to have a sauce!! I found the flavor however to be fairly bland, though not disagreeable. This is a minimal recipe that would be good to use on a day-to-day basis, not for company. The exclusion of onions is also regrettable, since that eliminates a lot of the traditional flavor. the paprika is a little different from other Aloo Gobi versions I have tried, but I would probably use less of it, and add a little more zing via green chili peppers in my own version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
The recipe is really good but it's missing some things. First off, it was really dry and it should really have some curry to it. I realized that the colour wasn't catching on to all of the cauliflower... just the tops and bottoms. I used half of a big cauliflower which might have been more than a pound. I added tomatoes (which you really should put in) and one cup of water. The water made it lose a bit of flavour and it was still dry. So after reading the other reviews, I added 1/2 can coconut milk and that made a good curry base. Also, I didn't have cilantro, so I used parsley instead, which worked well. In total, I put in twice the amount of spices that the recipe asked for, for the half a cauliflower I used. This makes the curry rich and flavourful. You need to simmer the dish on low for about 20 minutes longer as well. In the end ...it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Although I cook with minimal oil, I will have to say that this recipe requires more than 1 Tbsp as there is quite a lot of cauliflower. A couple of suggestions - cut the potatoes smaller than the cauliflower as they take longer to cook. Cover and cook over slow heat. Add cilantro after the vegetables have cooked and allow to heat through. This allows the fresh flavour to remain. Gobi Aloo is meant to be dry - it is not a curry, so pls don't follow other reviews of adding coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niloufer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
My family and I thought this was delicious. I added about 1/3 cup half and half like another reviewer, and also 1 can of diced tomatoes and the remainder of a bag of peas. Tasted great. The only change I would make would be to add the garam masala just about 5 minutes before it's done cooking, otherwise it makes the dish taste a little bitter. A little lemon juice can cure the bitterness, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is a nice, basic recipe. I agree with the reviewer who added tomatoes. It certainly enhanced the taste. I also added more garam masala because I like spicy food. To the reviewers who skipped the asafoetida, while asafoetida does not appear to really add anything to the taste, it's a traditional digestive added to Indian recipes. I find that it is especially helpful when you eat spicy or rich, oily food. So do add a pinch, even if you don't quite taste anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I liked this recipe a lot. It is dry, but I think it is supposed to be that way, because youre supposed to eat it with a dahl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States