Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe. After reading all of the reviews I agreed that it wasn't suppose to have a curry such as a masala but I never thought it would be completely dry. I spent 3 weeks in India and this was one of my favorite dishes there but this recipe was no where near the dish I had while traveling. After I realized that it was completely dry I added a can of diced tomatoes which helped. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I really liked this dish even if I'm not a huge fan of cauliflower. I know Gobi Aloo isn't supposed to be saucy but I had a can of cubed tomatoes so that I could serve it on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
We really liked this recipe! A great way to use cauliflower. We added the stewed tomatoes and thought it worked well. Like the others have said, adding coconut milk doesn't make any sense at all and it's great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I doubled the spices, i may have tripled them. it was really good but it was still much drier than what i get at indian restaurants. I know it is not supposed to saucy but i've always gotten a little bit of sauce when i order it. I don't think coconut milk is the answer and I tried the water idea but it still wasn't what i wanted. I didn't have the canned tomato so i'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Not quite as good as my favorite Indian restaurant, but it was okay for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
My husband loved this. He thought it was better than the Gobi Aloo from Whole Foods. I didn't have any garam masala so I used the "Easy Garam Masala" recipe on this website and made my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe for gobi aloo. I doubled the spices because thats just how I am. Cook on with lid on and is shouldn't be dry. Add a little butter or extra oil at the end if it seems dry. I love this kind of food. I served with Saffron and Cilatro long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solar_biscuit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Just did not like the taste. The cooking time was wrong. It took 3x as long and I had to keep adding water as it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This recipe tasted delicious but the curry seemed very runny. I think the next time I make this recipe I will try to drain the tomatoes before adding them into the curry. Perhaps this is why those people who used fresh tomatoes had so much more success... Thank you, though, for the curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
We had an Indian style buffet and this was my favorite recipe. I added 1/4 cup of water to simmer the potatoes but followed the recipe otherwise. Even my cauliflower-hating husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States