Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is a great combination of coking methods and spices, but I had to change it a little. I doubled the oil, added 1/4 of an onion (thin sliced), used two cloved garlic, 1/2 habanera, doubled the cumin, added 15 diced cherry tomatoes plus 1 tsp paste with 1/4 cup water, and omitted the cilantro (I did not want a South East Asian dish!). I reccomend sauteeing the garlic, onion, habanera, and ginger first until tender,m then adding the potatoes with all spices except garm masala. saute until potatoes are almost done, then stir in the cauliflower and tomatoes. after about 5 minutes, add the paste and water with the garam masala and smother until cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonagold

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Although I cook with minimal oil, I will have to say that this recipe requires more than 1 Tbsp as there is quite a lot of cauliflower. A couple of suggestions - cut the potatoes smaller than the cauliflower as they take longer to cook. Cover and cook over slow heat. Add cilantro after the vegetables have cooked and allow to heat through. This allows the fresh flavour to remain. Gobi Aloo is meant to be dry - it is not a curry, so pls don't follow other reviews of adding coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niloufer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I give this 4 stars for its versatility and for being a nice base recipe to play with. I made one variation that turned out really yummy (but not for those on low-fat diets!) - I added some tomato sauce to sauteed onions before adding potatoes and cauliflower and then some half-and-half at the end of the cooking time - this makes it more special-occasion fare I think. I also bumped up the spices to taste, including adding some garam masala. The toasted cumin seeds really do add a nice touch and makes your kitchen smell wonderful. One thing I noticed is that the potatoes take a long time to cook, so add them first and wait until they're nearly done before adding the cauliflower. Thanks for sharing this recipe - I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very good! I added the recommended can of stewed tomatoes for liquid and it turned out great. Didn't have quite as much flavor as I thought it would, but my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
this was a great recipe, very authentic Indian. I did add twice as much ginger, garlic, & cumin though, also a half an onion. I agree with the other reviews, leave out the coconut milk, it totally changes the recipe. I did boil the potatoes first, then added them to the spices with the cauliflower, also added a chopped tomatoe. it was great!! don't leave out the cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe. After reading all of the reviews I agreed that it wasn't suppose to have a curry such as a masala but I never thought it would be completely dry. I spent 3 weeks in India and this was one of my favorite dishes there but this recipe was no where near the dish I had while traveling. After I realized that it was completely dry I added a can of diced tomatoes which helped. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I really liked this dish even if I'm not a huge fan of cauliflower. I know Gobi Aloo isn't supposed to be saucy but I had a can of cubed tomatoes so that I could serve it on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
We really liked this recipe! A great way to use cauliflower. We added the stewed tomatoes and thought it worked well. Like the others have said, adding coconut milk doesn't make any sense at all and it's great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I doubled the spices, i may have tripled them. it was really good but it was still much drier than what i get at indian restaurants. I know it is not supposed to saucy but i've always gotten a little bit of sauce when i order it. I don't think coconut milk is the answer and I tried the water idea but it still wasn't what i wanted. I didn't have the canned tomato so i'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Not quite as good as my favorite Indian restaurant, but it was okay for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States