Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Holy Cow this was good! I went a bit heavier than suggested on the oil and spices and threw in about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. Make sure you cook long enough for the cauliflower to be just a hair crisper than than the potatoes. Fantastic I say. I was pressed for time, so I served with purchased pitas intstead of making a naan--brushed with olive oil and heated in the oven. Served alongside some sliced, August-fresh, local tomatoes and this dish really rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenwellcm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
After the cooking time stated in the recipe the potatoes and cauliflower were still too hard and the pan was very dry. I added a little water and put it back on the heat until they were tender. The flavor was very good and I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
very good--i didn't have a sweet potato but otherwise followed the directions and really liked it a lot--i sprinkled a little chopped cilantro on top--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Scrumptious! Followed recipe to the "T" except we used bottled ginger garlic paste from our local Indian grocer and increased all spices. Made this as a side dish and seved with mild curry flatfish, nan, and mango lassi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I enjoyed this very much! I did add some stewed tomatoes as suggested by the submitter, and like other reviewers I added just a bit of water while the vegetables were cooking and added the cilantro at the end of cooking. Very flavorful and delicious! I tossed some chickpeas into the leftovers for a little extra protein in my lunch tomorrow. This will definitely be a repeat - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
i personally thought the recipe was good. even my husband enjoyed it. i did a few things differently but don't think that made a huge difference. firstly, i added a little bit of water but just so the veggies cooked faster and i eventually let the water dry. i also added about a tsp of coriander powder. near completion, i added about 1-1.5 tbsp of tomato puree for taste, maintaining the dryness. o yea, i added peas but only because i wanted to eat peas as well. and lastly, i agree with the users who said to add the cilantro at the end - the taste is better retained. this is a good fast everyday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Excellent recipe! I did add about a cup of coconut milk with the potatoes along with one chopped tomato. Without the coconut milk, the potatoes would have stuck to the pan and would have gotten burned, but the coconut milk added great flavor. I also added some dried red chilies for extra spice and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was pretty good - I made it as a side for a butter chicken dish. I didn't have whole cumin seeds on hand, so I added just under a teaspoon of ground cumin instead (in addition to the other ground cumin called for in the recipe). I also added a can of corn kernels when I added the cauliflower, which was really good. I had to add water during the cooking process to keep it from drying out. The potatoes didn't seem to absorb any flavor - maybe this was because I used baby potatoes. Overall though, very tasty combination of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I added a can of stewed tomatoes. Also, I threw some cooked chicken breasts in it to soak up some flavor a few minutes before serving it. Hubby keeps asking for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
SO YUMMY! I added more oil so it cooked a little saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States