Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Excellent recipe! I did add about a cup of coconut milk with the potatoes along with one chopped tomato. Without the coconut milk, the potatoes would have stuck to the pan and would have gotten burned, but the coconut milk added great flavor. I also added some dried red chilies for extra spice and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was pretty good - I made it as a side for a butter chicken dish. I didn't have whole cumin seeds on hand, so I added just under a teaspoon of ground cumin instead (in addition to the other ground cumin called for in the recipe). I also added a can of corn kernels when I added the cauliflower, which was really good. I had to add water during the cooking process to keep it from drying out. The potatoes didn't seem to absorb any flavor - maybe this was because I used baby potatoes. Overall though, very tasty combination of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I added a can of stewed tomatoes. Also, I threw some cooked chicken breasts in it to soak up some flavor a few minutes before serving it. Hubby keeps asking for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
SO YUMMY! I added more oil so it cooked a little saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
wasn't like the real deal. i just returned from india and this is NOT aloo gobi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Quite a bit of work for the result. Ok flavor but not good enough to try again. I'll continue searching for a better recipe of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I loved this recipe! I prepared this as a side dish with some curry chicken and it was a big hit. This is not a very spicy dish and I will likely add additional spices the next time I make it. I'm not a big cauliflower fan but the potato/cauliflower mix was very pleasant and the texture of this dish was a large part of what I liked about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snave88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is a great combination of coking methods and spices, but I had to change it a little. I doubled the oil, added 1/4 of an onion (thin sliced), used two cloved garlic, 1/2 habanera, doubled the cumin, added 15 diced cherry tomatoes plus 1 tsp paste with 1/4 cup water, and omitted the cilantro (I did not want a South East Asian dish!). I reccomend sauteeing the garlic, onion, habanera, and ginger first until tender,m then adding the potatoes with all spices except garm masala. saute until potatoes are almost done, then stir in the cauliflower and tomatoes. after about 5 minutes, add the paste and water with the garam masala and smother until cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonagold

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Although I cook with minimal oil, I will have to say that this recipe requires more than 1 Tbsp as there is quite a lot of cauliflower. A couple of suggestions - cut the potatoes smaller than the cauliflower as they take longer to cook. Cover and cook over slow heat. Add cilantro after the vegetables have cooked and allow to heat through. This allows the fresh flavour to remain. Gobi Aloo is meant to be dry - it is not a curry, so pls don't follow other reviews of adding coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niloufer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I give this 4 stars for its versatility and for being a nice base recipe to play with. I made one variation that turned out really yummy (but not for those on low-fat diets!) - I added some tomato sauce to sauteed onions before adding potatoes and cauliflower and then some half-and-half at the end of the cooking time - this makes it more special-occasion fare I think. I also bumped up the spices to taste, including adding some garam masala. The toasted cumin seeds really do add a nice touch and makes your kitchen smell wonderful. One thing I noticed is that the potatoes take a long time to cook, so add them first and wait until they're nearly done before adding the cauliflower. Thanks for sharing this recipe - I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States